The rain is on its way

Standard

The Mister checked the weather this morning. It’s calling for rain, rain,…. and more rain.

Nice.

So, we decided to get as much yard work completed as possible before the indoor days hit.
This year it will be so easy to keep the yard looking decent (at least that is our plan) with 2 boys behind lawn mowers and the oldest able to use the whipper snipper.
100_5516

We are also trying to make the gardens look nice. We’re new to flower bed gardening and I’m finding we need to just do ‘something’. If it ends up looking weird we can always dig and move stuff, right? :) When we moved in there were so many plants and it has all gone rather wild on us. Now we have to weed through to save what we think might be non-weeds and see how it turns out.
100_5517

We were able to get a fare bit done outside and still manage to feed everyone and take some time to play with the baby. The kids wrapped up their chores, got showered up, and we all chillaxed and read some more from The Secret Garden before bed.100_5522

It was a good day. I love getting ready for my head to hit the pillow knowing that I’ve earned it.
Now let’s hope the baby thinks I’ve earned the right to stay there for longer than 3 hours at a time undisturbed. :)

2 responses »

  1. I know what you mean about earning that night’s sleep. It feels so good. Don’t you enjoy the yard more when it’s all tidied up?
    I’m not big on flower gardening, I’d rather spend my time and energy on a vegetable garden. I do have one flower bed by the house and a few containers where I plant annuals.

  2. Hi Marg. Hubby takes care of the vegetable garden. I was so bad at it for the first few years he asked me to stay out. :( But I’m learning and am allowed to help now. :) But I do love gardening no matter what it is I’m working on.
    The yard is seldom tidy. With 4 kids able to run around and find sticks and ride bikes it seems almost impossible. But my heart is peaceful when all is in its place.
    Bring on summer!

Leave a Reply

