BRF: Summer in the Psalms (37-43)

Standard

Check out my sidebar for info on Book Review Friday. We’d love to have you join us so please jump in wherever we are at, it’s never too late to get involved. :)

For this week, as you have already guessed, we move on to Psalm 44-50. Read a Psalm every day and try to read it more than once. 7 times would be great. Ponder, meditate, pray over it, then write down in your notebook whatever the Lord shows you. Come back next Friday (or Sunday in my case) and let us all in on your weeks reading.

Mine is short, but the notes in my binder are not. The purpose of writing a post on our Book Reviews is not to write down everything we saw or that is important, it is to fill our notebooks with all we’ve learned and see what a difference it makes in our own lives. Just reminding you that it’s okay for the reviews to be short & sweet. The main purpose is for each of us to get into the Word everyday and come away with gold nuggets that the Lord will use to make us grow.

So there.

I’ll just tell you really quickly that Psalm 39 was the Psalm that I couldn’t forget all week long. I read the others but kept coming back to 39 over and over. I don’t have any deep thoughts really, but I’ll just write straight from my notebook again, because time is against me, life is insane, and I’m tired. :)
Verses 7,8 – My hope is all in God. My life is based on the conviction of my sin and the One who saves me from myself. My sin brings pain because it separates me from fellowship. It bring “a plague” to my life and God corrects with blows’ and rebukes.

 

“You make his beauty melt away like a moth; surely man is vapor.” That comes from deep humbleness & repentance over ones sin.

I also thought that verses 4-6 would be a good place to start praying each day. “Lord make me to know my end, And what is the measure of my days, That I may know how frail I am.”

That’s all I’ll write. It’s not too late for you to write down a tidbit for us all either. Keep reading, keep making notes!

If you write a review please leave a comment with a link.

One response »

  1. BRF – tuesday :) and I’m just going to leave my little bitty review in your comments this time.

    For me chapter 39 was also the section that left me with the most to ponder. It is a profound piece of scripture and we would do well to read it often and really understand what it means for us as christians and why we are here. It is a DAILY struggle to have any focus whatsoever on the fact that our days are short and we are here to glorify the Lord. I’m STILL trying to figure out how all that fits into daily life. I can’t seem to connect the two things. It seems simple when I think about it but it’s the hardest challenge I’ve ever faced. But this chapter makes one want to figure it out right quick :) “we are merely moving shadows and all our busy rushing ends in nothing…”

    I don’t know if that made any sense :)

Leave a Reply

