BRF: Summer in the Psalms (29-36)

Standard

If you don’t know about Book Review Friday, please check out my sidebar. It’s a scary thought to me that most people who call themselves Christians do not read their Bibles often, definitely not every day. No wonder we’ve lost our passion and we’re confused, and totally messed up. Seriously, read your Bible. And I, along with a bunch of other people, love this method. Read up on it and join in if you up for it. :)

The next week we’ll be reading Psalm 37-43. Read a Psalm every day and keep your notebook with you so you learn more. That’s how it works. If you can’t explain it to someone else, you didn’t learn much.

It’s late for me to be getting this up here. I can’t help it. I have a life. I have a family & a mini farm that isnt’ leaving much computer time these days. We’re having a great time and I have lots of posts in my head. Maybe I’ll get around to letting you in on them someday soon.:)

Anyway, I have had one verse from this weeks reading that has been kind of ‘haunting’ me… in a good way. I’ve pondered and thought and meditated on it. I’ve been convicted many moments throughout many of my days because of it. I’m just going to type word for word from my binder notes simply to save brain cells and time.

Psalm 29:2 “…worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness.” No one cares about holiness anymore. At least it seems like it. Most days it’s a matter of survival for me and all thoughts and desires for holy living are forgotten and trampled by daily routines and nuisances. Living a holy life (something different than legalistic living) is a form of worship. without it our worship, my worship, loses it’s sweet smelling savour to the Lord. Holiness isn’t a once in a while thing – it’s a life lived in the Lord’s strength.

That is what has been going through my head. How can I say that I worship Him in the beauty of holiness when I’m not in the Word more, when I’m a grump or discontented at some point every day, when I am not totally absorbed in living my life – every moment of it- in constant communion with Him? My thoughts, attitudes, activities, entertainment, relationships, are not where they should be. I cannot say that I have worshipped Him in the beauty of holiness in a long long while. Showing up at church Sunday morning and feeling spiritual but not involving the Lord in every moment of my life throughout the week is nothing more than fake Christianity.

I’m convicted. God is working.

I’m hoping that you are all still patient with me and don’t mind BRF being up a day late. I’m hoping that you all have read and are excited about a writing a review. I’m excited about reading any that you do.
If you do a review please leave a link to it in the comments so we can all find it real easy like. :)

One response »

  1. hi. Here’s my public admission to all 4 of you that I didn’t do a good job of reading last week therefore no review :( I’m gonna do better. i am. I really really am.

    thanks for doing this Shannon, even when we don’t! :)

Leave a Reply

