BRF: Summer in the Psalms

Standard

If you would like to know more about Book Review Friday please check it out on my sidebar and join in wherever we’re reading! :)

Moving right along in the Psalms, we’ll be reading Psalm 29-36 until next Friday. Read a Psalm each day (a few times a day if you can) and come back here to share a bit of what you wrote in your notebook.

I’ll be back to add my review tomorrow I hope. Life was nicely busy with other things today and it passed without me realizing I needed to get BRF up here. :)

*** My review:

I was shocked & ashamed to look into my binder and find no notes from this week. No notes!!! I read each Psalm for the day, but never had my binder beside me. I always thought I’d find it and jot some stuff down and obviously never remembered once I stood up.

I’ll just touch on a couple that are my favourites from way back, like all of 7 or 8 years ago. I loved Psalm 25 the first time I read it through. I love practical things. I started praying Psalm 25: 4, 5 often way back when. I wanted to know His will for my day to day life and wasn’t sure how to go about knowing what it was. Then I read those verses, I was reminded just to ask.  “Show me Your ways, O Lord; Teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me,  For You are the God of my salvation; On you I wait all the day.”  So I asked the Lord to show me, teach me, and lead me. I concentrated on getting into the Word to give Him some ammunition too. I came back to this Psalm a lot.

I found it interesting this time reading through 25:8-9 that the Lord first teaches a sinner about His way. We’re lost without God showing us that we’re sinners in need of Him. Then, He humbles us so that we can be guided and taught. Just read it… “Good and upright is the Lord; Therefore He teaches sinners in the way. The humble He guides in justice, And the humble He teaches His way.”

The last thing I’ll mention is from Psalm 27:4. I think I need to memorize this verse. I don’t live with this as my whole focus and joy. “One thing I have desired of the Lord, That will I seek: That I may dwell in the house of the Lord  All the days of my life, To behold the beauty of the Lord, And to inquire in His temple.”  I get too caught up in the day to day tasks and my own disappointments or cares to think much about this. Reality check.

Okay, two things from Psalm 27. :) Vs. 13,14 come to me in times of personal struggle. Let’s face it, we all deal with icky circumstances. We get hurt, we feel like giving up, we mess up big time, we’re just tired or life just seems too hard to deal with. I’ve felt like giving up and just doing what I wanted instead of what I knew to be right from time to time. But this is the kind of verse that sticks with you and encourages you to stay on the straight and narrow no matter how little heart it seems you have left for it. “I would have lost heart, unless I had believed That I would see the goodness of the Lord In the land of the living.. Wait on the Lord; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord!” It’s amazing just how powerful a simple verse or two can be to change the course of ones life. This has been one of those verses for me on more than one occasion.

That’s all I’ll write for now. I’ve commited to doing better with my notebook this week. At least BRF is doing it’s job. It’s a weekly reminder to me when I’ve fallen off the wagon. This was a crazy busy week that I could have blogged a million times over about, but who had time?!! 

 I’m off to read your reviews. :)

If you did a review, or when you do it, come back here and leave a comment so everyone knows. It’s even better when you add the link to your review. :) You should go back and check the other reviews, some have been added later and it’s great to go back and see.

3 responses »

  1. super review! Your last paragraph was my favorite (27:13-14)

    I feel like giving up alot so it makes me want to take courage and wait on the Lord :)

    Yay!

Leave a Reply

