BRF: Summer in the Psalms

Standard

If you would like to find out what Book Review Friday is all about please look it up on my sidebar. Feel free to join us wherever we are at! :)

For this coming week we’ll be reading through Psalm 22-28. Read a Psalm each day. Read it a few times each day if you can, and make notes on the things you see and that speak to you. Next Friday come back and feel free to share as much or as little as you want. Everyone knows we can go short n’ sweet or long n’ deep around here. :)

I’ll just share a couple random things from my binder notes. First thing is from Psalm 16:8, “I have set the Lord always before me: because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.”I was wondering what some practical ways are that I can set the Lord before me. Here are just a few I wrote down:
*Read and meditate everyday (I love having ladies that are doing this right along with me!)
*Leave my Bible open on the counter and refer to it all day.
*Listen to sermons (or really good music when I can’t concentrate on a sermon)
*Make it a habit to pray as I go about my day.
If I disciplined myself to do all 4 of these things I’m sure it would have a dramatic affect on my life.

I’ll just have to tell you that I have 1 1/2 pages of my loose-leaf filled with stuff I wrote from Psalm 18 (and I was in a rush), so I guess I really liked that one. My favourite part is taken from vs.28-36. In those verses I have myself pulled out of darkness into the light, running through the battle, leaping over walls that are in my way, running so fast and getting to good and nourishing places, and I can even bend a bow of bronze because of the strength God provides. While all this is going on and I’m looking so swift and strong and graceful with all I’m battling and doing, it is God who is shielding and protecting me. He is the one giving the strength and grace to overcome human weakness and get to those higher, more nourishing places that I can find rest in.
I love how it is put in the last part of Psalm 18:35, “…thy gentleness hath made me great.” Everything God had done in my life amazes me. It’s a good thing to remember all that God has saved & brought me from. It was much gentleness that brought me to this place. He gently broke a few bones, he gently held my head above the raging waters more than once, He gently led me through still waters, He gently brought me back to Him each time I began to stray. He gently works and brings grace & joy.

Things I made note of in learning about all that God is:
Protector, Strength, Gentle, Perfect, Pure, Righteous, just to name a few. :)

Thanks for going along this journey through the Psalms with me. Every day that you bring out your Bible and notebook it’s nice to think about the others out there making a point to do the same. Keep reading. :) If you have a review of your own please leave a comment. Just last night I finally found the time to read all the reviews from last week. It’s been busy. They were great. :)

5 responses »

  1. I am reading along. I’m way behind, but I’m not even trying to catch up. I even jotted down a few notes. I just wanted to let you know. Maybe sometime when I’m not so tired and there isn’t so much to do, I’ll come back and share a couple of verses that really jumped out at me.

    But for now I’m contemplating staying up all night to get things caught up. I always regret doing that, but sometimes I just feel like it’s the only option. I’m feeling like that tonight.

  2. I’m also reading along, and, alarmingly, feeling much like Charmin…..don’t have time to get everything done. That’s one thing I’m hoping to get better at, worrying about getting everything done. ‘Cause, really, when does EVERYTHING get done? I’ll leave you with that deep thought….lol!

  3. Alright, I’m admitting I fell off the wagon last week and read all the chapters on Friday but not very carefully. I’m getting back on track this week. Oh yes I am!

    PS: this review you just wrote makes me want to do better :) thanks for writing it!

Leave a Reply

