Happy Monday

Standard

I love homeschooling. I love it for lots of reasons, but today I loved it because I was able to send the kids outside first thing to make their own forts. They were jealous of the cousins cool new digs in their back yard and today was a great snow building day to create some of their own.
100_0329
I sent them out shortly before 9am. They didn’t come back in until 1:45. In 5 hours I was able to make a serious dent in the mess around here. I didn’t get upstairs, but the downstairs is so much improved. I turned up The Martins and got right to work. It was great.

When it was finally time to come in and have a bite to eat we had some sausage soup left over from Sunday. Perfect. So yummy. What is better than rosy cheeks, fun stories from outside winter adventures, and a bowl of delicious goodness!
100_0339
Here is the recipe. It makes enough for our family of 6 and leftovers (if daddy isn’t home for the leftovers :).

Sausage Soup
4 Mild Italian Sausage
4 Sun Dried Tomato Sausage
2 Onions
2 Celery Stalks
2 Carrots
2 tsp Cumin
1 tsp Chili Powder
1/2 tsp Pepper
2 28oz cans Diced Tomatoes
2 cans Chick Peas
6 Cups Chicken Stock

Remove sausage skin (just squeeze the meat out) and make into chunks. In large pot heat 1 Tbsp oil over medium heat. Cook sausage without stirring for 5 mins.
Add chopped onions, carrots, and celery. Cook, stirring often for 10 minutes or until veggies are soft.
(If you want to make it spicy add a couple diced jalapeno peppers here too. Sooooo good!)
Add cumin, chili powder, pepper and tomatoes. Bring to a boil.
Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Add chic peas (drained & rinsed) and chicken stock.
Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

The recipe originally calls for all mild italian sausage and the jalapeno peppers. Its awesome that was but I like it even more with 1/2 sun dried tomato, and I leave the peppers out for the kids sake. :)

Let me know if you tried it and loved it.

I’m hoping to have time to type out my review before the evening is through. Better late than never!

One response »

Leave a Reply

