Book Review Friday: 2 & 3 John

Standard

If you don’t know about Book Review Friday please check it out on my sidebar and join in wherever we are at. We’d love to see another lady excited about getting in the Word!

For this week coming we will move on to Psalm 13-17. Read chapters 13 through 17 every single day for the next week. Come back and let us all in on how you’ve been encouraged. This time of the year isn’t very uplifting for me being in all the cold and not getting as much sunshine. I need all the encouragement I can get, and I think Psalms will do that for me. Join me? :)

I’ll post my review on 2&3 John later on. We are cleaning up a storm here today and then its on to grocery shopping this afternoon. I also found a second hand store that I’ve never been in and am so excited to check it out!!
****
Finally getting my review up. Since I’m pressed for time as usual I will write almost word for word from my notebook.
2John Vs.6 : “This is lovwe, that we walk acoording to His commandments. This is the commandment, that as you have heard from the beginning, you should walk in it.”

How do I live a life of love as I should?
I follow the commandments. I get to know what Christ says and I do it. This takes getting used to since what the world says love is, is something completely different.

Another thought from 1 John as I read 2 John is about loving the brethern. We love the brethern according to the Word of God. I usually forget the part about the loving and remember the part about keeping others accountable. Reading these past two weeks has done some work on my heart and showed me how they both need to be present. It hurts to see things like that, but I’m so glad I read it. I’m glad I meditated on it. I’m glad I’m still learning.

vs. 8. “Look to yourselves, that we do not lose those things we worked for, but that we may receive a full reward.”

I look at that verse as a warning and reminder to train my children in the Lord. Think of nothing as unimportant. Everything I do, say, every way I act, every thing I let them do, everything I allow, will mold and shape them. Every thing I allow them to hear, read, and see will shape them. I could teach and teach them of the biblical values they need, and all the verses, and all the doctrines… but if I slacken in my vigil of outside infulences, hubby and I could lose our full reward in years to come. Yes, I take it as a very serious warning. I’m tired sometimes, especially in January, and I would love to relax on a few things. Its not worth it though. Its not.

As for 3 John, I felt a little like Diotrephes, ‘who loves to have pre-eminence among them,’. I felt humbled to realize that it is more important to me to let people know that ‘I know’. To look spiritually important. I get self-seeking lots, just like Diotrephes. I need to ask the Lord to show me how to concentrate on my serving others and encouraging them rather than trying to look better.
***
I am not using Mr.Linky this week. I dont’ like how it looks and if I want it to look different I have to pay. I’m cheap so that’s not going to happen. If you have a review please let us all know by leaving a comment with the link to it. Thanks.

2 responses »

  1. A second hand store you’ve never heard of? Impossible. Let us know what you find. And when you’re going back. So we can beat you there, of course. :)

Leave a Reply

