Book Review Friday: 1 John

Standard

Read all about Book Review Friday on my sidebar. We’d love to have you join us if you still aren’t in on it! :)

I’m popping in really quickly to put up Mr.Linky for all those waiting so patiently for him. I’m going to slip out to see #59 in a few minutes… as soon as it is a little lighter out there… and when all the chillins wake up. So that means I probably wont’ get to my own review until later, much later.
****
So here is my short & sweet review. Hubby is home from work and I can’t take up time on this thing. :)

1 John is convicting. I’ve had a icky kind of week. I plan to overcome the January blues before they start, but it is obviously going to take more work than I expected. I’ll write more about that later.

I’m not the cheerful hard-working wife and mother I always imagined I would be. Its harder than it looks, ya know? Reading through 1 John about loving the brethren and thinking about the unity that is in the body of Christ even when we don’t agree on some things…. well, how does that translate into my home? Do I take the same amount of care not to cause friction with my fellow house dwellers???? Hmmmm???? No, I think not. I get cranky, ungrateful, and downright snippy with them.

I am not the example I should be to my children about what living the Christian life is all about. I smile sweetly at the ladies at church and help out with stuff while I’m there, and then lower my eyes and raise my voice with the kids when we get home. Talk about hypocrisy!!

1 John 2:28,29 : “And now, little children, abide in Him, that when He appears, we may have confidence and not be ashamed before Him at His coming. If you know that He is righteous, you know that everyone who practices righteousness is born of Him.”

Thems real convicting words. Yes, yes they are.

2 responses »

  1. I read it five times. Wow. I don’t know if I’ll get a review done because, as you know, the weekend is a little busier than usual. I’m not sure I’ll have anything to say if I do try to write a review. I hope I would surprise myself.

  2. I did read it a few times this week…but I didn’t seem to get it. So, I’m not posting a review. I’m taking yours and using it as the kick in the pants I should have gotten reading 1 John :)

    I had an icky week too…what’s up with the january blues anyway? I don’t like ’em…I don’t like ’em a bit.

Leave a Reply

