Book Review Friday: John

Standard

If you do not know what book review Friday is please check out my sidebar and join in wherever we are at. You won’t regret knowing the Scriptures better than you ever have before! :)

We’ve finished up with John (we should be finished anyway, I am behind but will catch up) and we’ll move back into the old testament. How about reading Joel this week. We’ve read it before, but that was a long time ago. It is going to be a busy week for all of us and I figured a short book would be appreciated. :) So read Joel every day until next Friday and see what truths you walk away with. Keep your notebook by your side so you are able to jot down all the things you see along the way.

I have three things to write about John. I haven’t read it all and have no idea how the week got away from me without getting more done. Crazy. But that is why I’m doing this, so I don’t lose track for more than a week.
1) Question: 2:24,25 “But Jesus did not commit Himself to them, because He knew all men, and had no need that anyone should testify of man, for He knew what was in man.” Actually reading that yet again I think I understand. People were all believing in Him because He was doing lots of cool things that made life better and more interesting for them, but Jesus knew they did not believe IN HIM, so He did not commit Himself to them. I think I get it now?

2)5:30 “…My judgment is righteous, because I do not seek My own will but the will of the Father who sent Me.” Perfect thing to keep in mind for all my decision making. Leave me out of it and choose according to what would give God the most glory. Sounds easy sneezy, but I know its not.

3) I see a few instances regarding election. 6:65 “… no one can come to Me unles it has been granted to him by My Father.” 6:44 “No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him and I will raise him up at the last day.” I realize there is an aspect of free will in salvation and it is a mystery how these two can work together, but God is mysterious in many ways. I’m just so glad that He chose me! :)

That is all I will write for now. I need some meds. Even while sick I will still read your reviews with great anticipation. :) Here is Mr. Linky for y’all.

Leave a Reply

