Book Review Friday: Mark

Standard

Please check out my sidebar for more information on Book Review Friday. It’s simple, cheap, and eternal. :)

We’ve finished up with Matthew and Mark, and you can probably already guess where I’m going for the next weeks reading. Yep, lets move on to Luke.  There are 24 chapters in Luke. That means that you should read about 3 or 4 chapters a day and you’ll finish it before next Friday. Don’t just read to get it over with though, read it like you mean it. Read it like there is hidden treasure just waiting to be found… cuz, there is.

Reading through Mark was good. I have loads of questions, my Bible is filled with sticky notes, I have more pages filled out in my binder, I understand a few things more and realize how much there is left to understand. I have much fewer lightbulb moments than questions while reading. I will not write a formal review because I have a tummy ache and would like to go rest. :) I’ll leave you with a few questions that I have already driven my hubby crazy with.

9:12-13 “Then He answered and told them, ‘Indeed, Elijah is coming first and restores all things. And how is it written concerning the Son of Man, that He must suffer many things and be treated with contempt? But I say to you that Elijah has also come, and they did to him whatever they wished, as it is written of him.'”    So, when did Elijah come and what did he do?

I don’t remember reading anywhere that Christ was tempted before He was baptized. Just wondering…

Mark 2:3-12 has brought up the same question as the same story in Matthew. Did the paralytic that Jesus forgave his sins, have to offer sacrifices anymore?

And, just because I ask questions like this, why bother writing 4 different books that say pretty much the same thing. You know, Matthew Mark Luke & John. Why not just combine them and tell it all in one larger book???  Silly question, I know. :)

I did notice something I hadn’t seen before. It was in the part about the disciples not being able to cast out a demon. They asked Jesus why they couldn’t and He said they didn’t have enough faith. He also said that this kind of demon could only be dealt with through prayer & fasting. A light went on. Those guys weren’t doing what they should day in and day out to be ready for the bigger spiritual battles that would come. They didn’ t have the spiritual strength to overcome the evil because they hadn’t built themselves up where it counted. Just another reason to be studying and praying every. single. day.  Its important, and we don’t realize how much we’re missing until all of a sudden we don’t have what it takes.

I really need to go. Nothing deep here but all good stuff. The more I read the more it pushes me to understand more. It is constantly on my brain and God is working all the time.

Here is Mr.Linky for anyone caring to link their review. :)

3 responses »

  1. i read 12 chapters of Mark…and I am just getting ready to head to the city today. I hope to post something tonight :)

    I hope your tummy feels better today!

  2. Pingback: Book Review Friday « Redneck Liber

Leave a Reply

