The Rapture.

Standard

I think I’ve mentioned a time or two before about getting to know your Bibles. :) I know the Word more than I ever have and I’m so excited to keep learning more and more. God changes me and surprises me with His work again and again. Love it.

I have a question for y’all. Before I ask it you have to remember something. It isn’t about what you think, and it isn’t about what you have been taught, it isn’t about what the pastor always says. I am asking YOU a question, so don’t run off and ask some smartie Bible person for an answer (though I would appreciate smartie Bible people leaving comments!). Think for yourself on this one.

If you are a Christian than you have heard about the ‘signs of the times’ more than ever these days. There are some scary looking things afoot in the world and we need to be ready. My hubby and I have been talking about it (actually, he’s been talking about and I patiently listen :), and I had a question for him. “So, do you know beyond the shadow of a doubt, from Scripture, that we are not going to be here for the Tribulation?”, says I. Hubby paused and said in an unsure voice, “Not really.”

I want to know.

I was always taught from Scripture that we wouldn’t be here. Rapture then Tribulation, that’s the way its supposed to be, right?? I had no idea that there were Christians out there who believed differently. And I don’t know the Scriptures well enough to be able to say for sure one way or another. Sure, there are lots of verses I can use to make what I always thought was true seem like it is actually the right way, but I want to know what the Bible really says… for sure.

So, what say you? I’d like to know what you think. What Scripture(s) do you base it on? I’m opening it up for big time discussion. All comments will be appreciated.
Let’s talk.

13 responses »

  1. Maybe I’ll have a chance to come back later and leave a more detailed answer, but the Scriptures simply aren’t CLEAR & SPECIFIC about this – though lots of people are firm believers one way or the other.

    This is how I approach the end times –>
    Hoping for the best (raptured BEFORE the tribulation)
    and
    Preparing for the worst (rapture AFTER the tribulation)

    I teach my kids about the end times, telling them what the Bible says about what will happen to those who don’t receive the mark of the beast – stay strong in faith, know the Lord is faithful. The persecutors can kill your body, but GUARD your soul so it can be in Heaven with God forever – long after the “temporary troubles” of this life.

    Very sobering thoughts and times.

  2. Ooooo, I got chills when I read your title…and now I have more chills having read your post. I’ll be hitting the scriptures because now I want to know what I think :) I just assumed we’d be raptured before the tribulation because that’s what I hear the most. I’ve got to check it out for myself. I’m a little scared now though.

  3. I was a pre-tribber for a very long time, mostly because it was what I heard others talking about and figured they had it right. I read a lot on http://www.raptureready.com and read every single book in the Left Behind series. But the more that I read the Bible, the more I came to realize that we simply cannot be certain when exactly Jesus will come for us. I have read extensive scriptural arguments for pre, mid and post tribulation raptures that all make sense in theory.
    If I HAD to pick, I might lean towards pre-trib rapture, simply because it’s the least likely to be figured out ahead of time. Whereas if the rapture were to occur at some point during the 7 years, we might figure it out. If not even Jesus knows when it will occur, then I don’t see how anyone else can assume to know. But really, I just don’t see how we can be sure of when. I’d like to think that it’s mid or post only because then we could show unbelievers how the scriptures foretold the events, and hopefully lead them to Christ.
    In my Bible study we were recently talking about this, and a woman said she believes in the panmillenium, which is that it will all pan out in the end. ;)

  4. Your question has intrigued me to do a study with my hubby on this so that I too can know beyond a shadow of doubt what the Bible says on this subject – here goes

    Here is the gospel message of today:

    Eph. 1:13 ” In whom ye also trusted, after that ye heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation: in whom also after that ye believed, ye were sealed with that holy Spirit of promise,”
    so after you/I have received Christ as your/our Saviour you/I are saved eternally, for ever.

    Now contrast that to the message found in Matt. 10:21-23 which discribes the times of the tribulation. It is not only
    enough to believe but one must endure to the end (vs 22)

    Matt. 10:21 “And the brother shall deliver up the brother to death, and the father the child: and the children shall rise up against their parents, and cause them to be put to death.
    :22 And ye shall be hated of all men for my name’s sake: but he that endureth ti the end shall be saved.
    :23 But when they persecute you in this city, flee ye into another: for verily I say unto you, Ye shall not have gone over the cities of Israel, till the Son of man be come.”

    So those who are saved now, sealed salvation – must or obviously have been removed (the rapture)
    On sealed salvation –

    Eph. 4:30 “And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption” (day of redemption is the rapture & we are sealed by the Holy Spirit until that day)
    John 10: 25-30
    :28 “And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.”

    This is one reason why we believe the Bible teaches Pre-Trib.

  5. Thank you ladies for the comments so far. I’m still reading and studying it out and I’d like to write a few things down too. Like Tami, I’m not sure I’ll be able to say one way or the other, ever, but the study is a good one. I think Shay’s comment about the panmillenium is kinda funny. Never heard that one before. :) And Karen, thank you so much for a comment with Scripture to back up what you believe. I’m going to be going over those some more before I get my take on it written down. I love learning this stuff!
    Please keep the comments coming!

  6. My husband and I just had this same conversation the other night!!! And, I don’t know what to think. I don’t know if we are to fully understand, I mean, wouldn’t God have given the message a little clearer if we WERE to know? Maybe that’s a lazy approach and a quick excuse when I get tired and confused about studying that part of scripture- who knows. I do know that not everyone understood prophetic scriptures from the OT about Jesus until He came. His own disciples didn’t even understand until He rose again! If THEY didn’t fully get it until it happened then, how do I expect to get things before they happen? I’m starting to think that maybe God didn’t intend for us to understand every detail He just wanted to us to know that THE END? It WILL happen…and people need to be ready, wether you’re pre-trib, post-trib, or mid-trib. I would like to know but, I don’t get scared because I know my Lord will be acoming for me one way or another! Oh what a day that will be!!!
    I would just like to say that these thoughts of mine are just that, thoughts. There not set in stone or anything. Just wanted to add my 2 cents! :)

  7. I hesitated to leave a comment because I don’t have scripture to back up my belief, and I don’t really have time right now to study it. (I guess what I’m saying is I’m not interested enough to study it. So be it. I have other fish to fry at the moment.)

    Every time I’ve heard someone teach on the subject, the pre-trib stuff just made sense with the scriptures. So that’s what I’m goin’ with.

    And what would be the point of being raptured after the tribulation? (That may sound condescending. I hope not, because I’m really asking. Maybe I missed something in all those ‘end times’ messages I’ve heard.)

  8. Well Seven, “And what would be the point of being raptured after the tribulation? “, why do we assume that we won’t be here. The reason that you believe pre-trib is because that is what has been spoon fed to you all the time. (I can be blunt here folks, we’re family). Pre-trib is what the movies are about too, and it is what a lot of smart people believe, of course it makes sense. That’s what I mean by knowing the Scriptures for yourself and not what you have been taught. If you read the same Scriptures as ‘those people’, but leaving pre-conceived ideas behind you, it can be much more of a gray area. And its true we all have other fish to fry, I’m just interested. If its in the Bible its important to know. you know? :)

  9. Okay, I’ve been thinking about this, and I still have no idea what I think. I always thought we were raptured pre-tribulation. But that’s just what I’ve always been taught. I started searching for a book from my NBBI days called The Rapture Question, but then realized that reading it again would still just be giving me what someone else thought.

    So, I’m going to study more, but honestly, my gut is still telling me pre-trib.

    I liked what Tami said–hoping for the best, but being prepared for the worst. Except I’m not really prepared for the worst, cause I always assumed that I wouldn’t be here.

    Ugh, so many thoughts running through my head. I have some serious studying to do.

  10. Yes, you can be blunt with family, but some days it’s blunter than others. Know what I mean? You might want to tread softly when you come for supper today. : )

    So for the benefit of all non-family people reading…

    I shouldn’t have left a comment in the first place since you asked for scripture and I had none to share and no time to find any. I was just trying to be friendly. I am friendly-challenged.

    No, it’s not what I’ve been spoon-fed; It’s what I’ve been taught. With scripture to back it up. I just can’t rattle them off from memory, that’s all.

    I think I didn’t phrase my question well enough. Why would Christ rapture us at the end of the tribulation, only to bring us right back for the millenium? I’m just trying to think through that position.

    And you can be taught something and still know the scriptures for yourself if you’ve studied along with the teacher and see that it is truth.

    I didn’t mean to imply that I’m the only one with other important things to think about, and I certainly didn’t mean to imply that the rapture isn’t important. I’m sorry if I made it sound that way. I only meant to say that it isn’t pressing on my mind at the moment, other things are. It is on yours, so go for it.

    There. I’m done commenting. I’m just no good at it. : )

  11. I guess I came across way way more blunt than I felt. Mercy!
    I am not saying that pre-trib is wrong. Not at all. I just want to be able to give a scriptural answer for my own stance on the subject, not what I was taught in my own little Bible teaching sphere.

  12. Hi Shannon,

    I had found this question earlier this week and have been thinking about it. Like Charmin, I have not taken a great deal of time to look up Scripture again, but on the way home from Bible study tonight, Greg and I were talking about it. I gave him my take and he agreed (and mentioned that you guys had had a short discussion on it earlier).

    So here goes. I am definitely pre-trib. I am not convinced that we will not endure persecution before the rapture and the tribulation – in fact, as time progresses, I am more and more sure that there will be persecution – it is coming our way. However, there are two major reasons that I believe the church will be raptured before the tribulation. The first is that the book of Revelation is written in chronological order, and there is not any mention of the church after the first three chapters. The second reason is that God has always removed His people before His judgment has come. Noah went through persecution and abuse, no doubt, but he was removed before the flood came. Lot also had some hard times, but was taken from the city before the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah. Also, Revelation 3:10 (remember those Bible verses that I had to learn for Awana?) says, “Because thou hast kept the word of my patience, I also will keep thee from the hour of temptation, which shall come upon all the world, to try them that dwell upon the earth.”
    So, that is my interpretation of the situation, but only the grace of God will keep us faithful until the time that the Lord takes us.

  13. Thank you Shirley!! That’s the kind of stuff I want to know. :) I don’t remember hearing those things before. :) Glad to see that you made it home safe & sound after what was an icky drive home tonight! :)

Leave a Reply

