Book Review Friday: Matthew 15-18

Standard

If you do not know what Book Review Friday is all about just check out my sidebar and feel free to jump in wherever we’re at. It may not be the most popular Mr.Linky around, but its one of those ‘changed your life’ things when you keep it up! :)

Until next Friday we’re moving on to chapters 19-24. That means that in two weeks we’ll have finished Matthew. You can say that you know the book of Matthew better than you ever have… even if you only read it once through that will still be the case.

For this weeks reading I was hit with many things. Right off within the first half of the first chapter I was convicted by verse 8 & 9, ” This people draweth night unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me. But in vain they do worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men.”
All talk. All vanity. We sit around and talk talk talk, thinking as men and feeling as wise as God. We are so deceived in ourselves. I/we need to lose the self focus and what we think is the way to go, and start getting to know the commandments of God. We’ve lost that. No one cares about being holy anymore. Just when I think that I do, I choose my way instead of God’s way and prove again how easily swayed my heart is. There is a whole other post I’d love to write on this topic, but there’s no time… no time…

I was totally TOTALLY excited when I read 15:27 this time. I’ve read it many times before, been asked what it means, asked others what it means and could never grasp it. My mom just looked at me like I had three heads when I said I had never gotten it before. I guess she thought it was one of those easy sneezy parts of the gospels. Not for me. In case you don’t have a clue what verse I mean here it is, ” And she said, Truth, Lord: yet the dogs eat of the crubs which fall from their masters’ table.” If you need the whole context to know what I’m talking about read verses 21-28 and you’ll find the interesting story right there. This lady was not a Jew and was asking for Jesus to heal her daughter. She believed in Jesus and came to Him for his healing. Jesus basically told her that he was there to bring the gospel to the Jews first and foremost. The lady explains that she understood that, but since many weren’t believing and following Him she was ready to receive the blessings meant for those who discarded them.
I never understood that. Cool.
Then again, maybe I still don’t. Did I get it wrong??? :)

And quickly, another section that hit hard was 16:28. The ‘you must deny yourself and follow me’ verses. Just after Jesus had rebuked Peter for thinking in men’s terms instead of taking what He said as truth he heads into the part where he tells all of his disciples that its going to cost them big time to follow Him. It will be hard. Crosses are cruel and punishing, but the eternal benefits are much greater of a life lived this way. It was another one of those, ‘I caught a glimpse of the glory of my God and nothing else in the World could ever matter’ moments. When I think like this I can place everything, my family, sanity, physical well being, and everything else in the hands of God with complete trust and peace. He is God. He didn’t lie to me and tell me it was all going to be alright, but someday it will be perfect and I will not have any regrets… if I deny myself and take up my cross.

I have to get going. Hubby is home from work and I still have things to prepare for a busy day at Watchthesky tomorrow. I would love to sit and write for the rest of the evening, but that would be painful for you, and unwise for me. :)
Here is Mr.Linky for y’all. Now I would never want to guilt you into writing a review, but don’t forget that is one of the main ingredients in BRF. We know from experience that if we don’t write we don’t get nearly as much out of it. Just sayin. :)

3 responses »

  1. Great review! You never disappoint :) I think your explanation of the verse with the Gentile woman was good, at least it sounded good to me! but as you’ll see in my review, I had lots of questions so I don’t know a whole lot :)

  2. Sorry I am not doing so well in writing a review. I can and I am keeping up with the reading though. I will read all the reviews that I have not read since my last review, I thought I might get one written but alas it is getting too long. Thank you for keeping up with posting the selections to read. I am not a very good student!! Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

