Book Review Friday: Matthew 12-14

Standard

If you do not know about Book Review Friday please go check out my sidebar and join in wherever we are at. We’d love to have you getting to know the Scriptures better along with us!! :)

For this week we’ll move on to Matthew Chapters 15-18. Slowly but surely we are making our way through one of our longer books. I hope you are learning and being challenged by the reading.

Oh my, I had many many more questions again this week. I was asking hubby a bunch last night while he was trying to get to sleep. He answered all the questions from his pillow with his eyes closed. But I won’t get into the answers right now, I will give you my short and sweet review.

Remember your binder/notebook for BRF??? I hope you still bring it out every time you read some thing that goes along with the topic you picked. I will be adding 12:33-37 to my ‘Taming the Tongue’ section.  It is always a big time conviction when I read about the use of my mouth. “…for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh. A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things; and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things.”

Who wouldn’t be convicted by those verses??? Many times I wonder if there is any ‘good treasure’ being built up inside me. A few people have told me that when the hard times come, you’re stressed out and on the brink… that’s when people see who you really are. I guess that is when the true treasure of your heart shows. Whatever you are filled with comes out. Man, on my good days I’m still showing evil treasure. I’ve got a long way to go. 

I am thankful for the fact that God is merciful and hasn’t snuffed me out yet. I still have opportunity to grow, learn, change by His Spirit in me. I want to build up the good treasure. I want to become like that man who finds a treasure in a field and he goes home and sells everything, EVERYTHING, to purchase the field (13:44). He knows there is something far better than anything he had already. He sold it all it the hope of owning something far greater one day.

Eternal perspective. That’s what I need. Fill myself with good treasure (His Word), and live as if none of this life matters except what adds to the eternal treasure I am pressing toward.

That’s all I will touch on. I’ll leave Mr.Linky here for everyone to link their reviews. Keep reading. Run the earth & watch the sky!

4 responses »

  1. Well, we just can’t have two days with no comments.

    I didn’t read the chapters. Struggling with making time here. Still adjusting to the new challenges a baby brings to the schedule. (Even a baby as beautiful and happy as mine brings with her some challenges. Always eager to find opportunities to mention how beautiful and happy Babygirl is.) Hoping for big things this week, including reading every day.

    I just wanted you all to know how much I enjoy reading your reviews each week. Each of you find things that I didn’t notice, and it gets me to thinking, and if you know me, you know I like to get to thinking. Then there are those each week who do see what I see and I think, “Hey! She saw that, too!”

    Either way it’s encouraging. Keep up the good work, ladies.

  2. Mine is coming, promise!!! It’ll be late again, of course. Erin’s coming tomorrow for an impromptu visit so we’ll see if I can get it up before then…

  3. I waited to read your review, hoping I would get one up. But I think I’m out this time. I did read the chapters a couple of times but not enough to give you anything worth reading :)

    Your review, on the other hand, was very worth reading. I like when you talked about eternal perspective because I think I have lost mine…I need to get it back.

  4. It seems like we all say every week how much we need to focus on the eternal things but none of us are having any success with that. How do we go beyond the head knowledge and live it?

    I, for one, am getting very annoyed with myself. How can I learn the same things over and over but not change the way I live my life?????

Leave a Reply

