Book Review Friday: Matthew 8-11

Standard

If you don’t know about BRF, please check it out on my sidebar. Jump in wherever we are at and be ready for God to show you things you’ve never seen before! :)

Moving on in reading Matthew, we’ll read chapters 12-14 for the coming week. It isn’t many chapters, but there is so much here that we don’t want to get overwhelmed and miss stuff. :)

For my review I will just jot down a few little points I pondered throughout the week. Nothing earth shattering or terribly exciting really, just interesting to me.

* I don’t understand why Jesus told people in two different instances (8:4 & 9:30) to ‘tell no man’ after He had healed them. Why keep what God did for you secret??? I also forgot to ask hubby that question, and he probably has some very deep and insightful answer. :)

* In 8:10, when Jesus was talking about the Centurion and said, “I have not found so great a faith, not in Israel.”, I was jealous. I want great faith too. The soldier guy really seemed to grasp the fact that this Jesus was in complete control over space, time, & sickness. He also knew that He was not worthy for Christ to grant his desire. He said, “I am not worthy that thou shouldest come under my roof; but speak the word only, and my servant shall be healed”. I love that He obviously took care of what was his and believed Christ to be in control, and also One who was merciful. I can’t say it like I want to, its late, but I like the Centurion soldier guy. :)

* 8:34 “And, behold, the whole city came out to meet Jesus; and when they saw him, they besought him that he would depart out of their coasts.” Just another example showing how we fickle humans would rather choose evil over God’s perfect way. Reminded me of when Jesus was on trial and the people chose for Christ to be put to death and Barabbas, the murderer, to be released.

* 9:10 “And it came to pass, as Jesus sat at meat in the house, behold, many publicans and sinners came and sat down with him and his disciples.” Jesus didn’t have to go looking for people to witness to. The kind of life He lived, His actions & words, made him stand out and people were drawn to Him. Good lesson for me. If I’m more like Christ then more opportunities to speak the gospel will come about. Then again, I have to be ready because, if I’m more like Christ there will be people who will hate me as they hated Him as well.

* 9:2 “And, behold, they brought to him a man sick of the palsy, lying on a bed: and Jesus seeing their faith said unto the sick of the palsy, Son, be of good cheer, thy sins be forgiven thee.” After reading this verse I wondered what happened to all those that Jesus had healed. Did they go home and have lasting blessed effects from being physically healed by God Himself? The ones that were healed, did they go home and live a long life without becoming ill ever again? Just wondering. But more importantly it made me see that all those healings were just physical. Then all of a sudden in this verse He deals with the eternal healing in this man. He forgives His sins. That is huge. And I don’t understand how it all works, because He hasn’t died yet. So does that mean that this man didn’t have to offer sacrifices anymore according to the Law, while everyone else did? Again, I haven’t talked this all over with hubby yet, I’m sure he has stuff to say to me about all this. :)

I have more questions and comments written down in my binder, but I’ll quite for tonight. I hope there are other reviews out there to add to Mr.Linky, I’d love to see what everyone saw for themselves this week. Remember, short & sweet or long & deep, we love reviews around here!!! :)

p.s. I didn’t do spell check. That’s scary. But thank you kindly for dealing with it.

4 responses »

  1. ok, I’m back, my review is up and linked. Baby cried a little less today but it was crazy busy round here! anyway, it’s up and I am ready to sleep :)

    Great review! I liked your questions and had thought of some of those as well and some of them I wished I had thought of :) You should post your hubby’s answers to the questions, he’s pretty smart :)

  2. You noticed so many interesting things that I never even saw. I agree with Jenn- I want to see your hubby’s answers to those questions.

Leave a Reply

