Brown Bread

Standard

We had finished a meal using our fresh whole wheat bread and I asked the kids which one they liked better, white or whole wheat. Everyone said they preferred the whole wheat, except my girl. She scrunched up her nose and said, “I really don’t see any difference.” Fine. She doesn’t enjoy bread on the best of days. Weird. When she felt it was safe to continue talking, and that mommy wouldn’t cry, she said that she wondered what Grammie’s magic was to make her bread. “Magic??” I asked. “Yea, to make her bread brown and taste so good”, says she. Um hm.

So why don’t I just give you Grammie’s magic bread recipe, and then you can decide for yourself which one of the three you like most. And since my WordPress account is still acting up, there will be no pictures for you. :(

Put 2 Cups of Oatmeal in a large bowl.
Add 1/4 Cup Shortening.
Add 3 Cups boiling water. Stir until shortening melts.
Let sit for 20 minutes.

In 1 Cup warm water add 1 tsp sugar and 2 Tbsp yeast. Let sit for 10 minutes.

After the Oatmeal has sat for 20 minutes add 2/3 Cup Molasses, and 4 tsp Salt.
Stir risen yeast with fork and add to Oatmeal mixture.

Start adding flour a Cup at a time until right consistency. (I think it ends up being about 7-9 Cups)
Let rise 1 hour.
Cut into 4 loaves (they will be slightly smaller than the other recipe)
Place in greased loaf pans and let rise 1 hour more.
Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes. Make sure they are completely done, no fun having doughy brown bread…. I know. :(

8 responses »

  1. i told you the whole wheat was my favourite.

    mom’s brown bed is the best. mine never turns out as good as hers. i came close once. i know because the kids told me.

    my recipe is a little different.
    i add 2 tsp. sugar to the water with the yeast.
    i need at least 9 c. flour (more like 10) to get to the just barely sticky stage we like our dough to be.
    i cook mine for 30 min.

    so there.

    love the bread series.

    are you going to post the french bread? last time i made it i doubled it and accidentally cut it into four instead of six. it was awesome. i will be doing that from now on.

    have you tried the pumpkin recipe yet?

    have you thought of posting the rolls recipe?

    yup. i like bread.

  2. i made mom’s recipe just this morning. i put 2 tsp of sugar in the water, but only needed 5 cups of flour i think…and it made the best brown bread ever. not quite as good as mom’s, but that’s to be expected. still though, it was divine. we had grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch with it and mmmmmmmmmmmmm, it was good.

  3. I’m going to try the whole wheat tomorrow, I believe. That’s the plan, Stan.

    Everyone tell Erin she needs to come to my house this weekend. It is imperative.

    Mom’s brown bread is the best bread I have EVER tasted. Ever. I don’t know what I do wrong… she made some for us right after J was born, at my house with my ingredients and oven… and it was so much better than mine has ever been. Ever.

  4. Thanks for entering the Mabel’s House contest to win my debut suspense novel, SISTERS OF MISERY! Even if you don’t win, I hope you get a chance to read and enjoy it!

    xoxo
    Megan Kelley Hall

    P.S. Happy Halloween!!

  5. I gotta get me some loaf pans. I loooooooove bread. I could eat bread for every meal. That’s right, not WITH every meal FOR every meal. MMMMMMM!

Leave a Reply

