Book Review Friday: Matthew 5-7

Standard

If you do not know about Book Review Friday, you can find all the details on my sidebar. Jump in wherever we are reading and say hello. We’d love to have you along!! :)

First things first, we’ll move on to Matthew chapters 8-11 until next Friday. I’m finding it hard to take Matthew as slow as I am. I know what book we’re doing next, and I just want to get to it. But there is much in Matthew that I’m sure I need to get into, and so I shall be patient. :)

As for my review, I had a hard time with 5: 11, 12, “Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake. Rejoice, and be exceeding glad; for great is your reward in heaven; for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.”  You know what?? That really isn’t my cup of tea.

On one hand I love getting into the Word more. I love learning and coming out of my shell and talking with people about what I am becoming passionate about. On the other hand, I don’t want to deal with the negative side effects of growing closer to the Lord. I’m all for leading people to Christ, teaching my children how to walk in the Truth, and setting my city on a hill for all to see, and my candle on a candlestick too… but only if everyone is going to be nice to me & mine. Seriously. I don’t like thinking about persecution and what I believe we will have to go through if the Lord doesn’t come back soon. I’m a wimp.  But the verse says to rejoice when it happens. Rejoice, folks. Very hard. Our reward is coming later. Its all part of that eternal view and losing our earthly eyes I guess. I’m just not there yet.

It was 5:37 that convicted me just last night. I was asked to help in the Awana store. It is a very noisy, kid filled, crazy part of the evening, and I said I’d help. As I got to the doors and saw that there were plenty of people already helping I almost turned around to do other things. But then those haunting words came to mind, ‘let your yes, be yes; and your no, be no’.  So I walked back into the noisy room and set up a table and helped the kids buy cool stuff.  Deep stuff here I tell ya. Deep.

That is all I’ll write this time. Life is short. Some days it seems shorter than others. :) Here is Mr.Linky for all the reviews that will immediately pour in, and I will read each and every one with gratefulness in my heart for y’all.

4 responses »

  1. I’m with you on the persecution thing. I used to think it would be kind of exciting, and I still do, but once you have children things change. Terrifying!

    I have heard missionaries say that other countries are praying for persecution to come to North America to purify the church and bring it back to what it should be. Serious stuff.

  2. Yup, I’m the wimpiest of wimps. I don’t like when people yell at me. And even scarier is the actual true persecution that many Christians face today. I’m with both of you, serious stuff.

  3. Really great post. I’ve watched a friend go through some terrible trials in the last few years, and all the while I keep thinking, “I’m not sure what that would do to my faith.” That’s what I’ve started praying for… for God to give me the strength to go through the hard parts of life. To love him anyway. But yeah, big giant wimp right here.

Leave a Reply

