Book Review Friday (on Saturday): Ecclesiastes 7-12

Standard

If you don’t know about Book Review Friday, please check it out on my sidebar and feel free to join in wherever we are at! :)

Thanks for being patient ladies. I’m late because life is busy. Busy, I tell you. :) We have big plans to enjoy thanksgiving weekend, and hope you all do as well. I’ll probably post some favourite pictures after it all passes.

For the coming week I thought we could move on and read Matthew. Take Matthew 1-4 for the next week. Read, glean, and get excited about what God will show you!

Now for my review on the last chapter of Ecclesiastes (spelled that from memory:). This will probably be another ‘nutshell’ kind of review. I was pleased to get to the last two verses this past week.

The whole picture of a life lived purely for the here and now is totally draining. Since we are reading this everyday, everything I saw around me, all the things that people talk about, everything that is so important to us made an impression more than usual. When I start thinking about those material things I don’t have but want so badly, the first word that popped into my head was ‘vanity’. Listening to conversations, being part of conversations, and seeing how I spent my time, I constantly had this little voice inside me saying ‘vanity… vanity’. It really made me think and want to refocus. But I was torn on just how to do that. Every single thing I did, said, wanted, or took part in, seemed to bring the same conclusion… Vanity.

 I was depressed after the first half of the reading, and when I finally got to the part where it said, “Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter:”, I was pretty excited to see what the end of it all would be.  “Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man. For God shall bring every work into judgment, with ever secret thing, whether it be good, or whether it be evil.”

I like things that are clear-cut. You know, black & white. I’m that kind of girl. The more I read and study God’s Word, and the more I ask Him to teach me to walk like Him, the more clear-cut many things seem to get. I have a long way to go, but its amazing to remember how foggy my Christian walk was 10 years ago compared to now. That brings me to another point, and another verse.

7:16 “Be not righteous over much; neither make thyself over wise: why shouldest thou destroy thyself?”  I really did find this book quite humbling. I shouldn’t be thinking I’m better or wiser than anyone else. Not only will it destroy God’s testimony in my life and relationships with others, it’s not even true. When we are on a roll, reading & studying, learning much from our time spent with the Lord, it can be very easy to bring oneself to thinking that… well… ya just get full of pride. Not fun to admit, but true. That brings me to another point.

9:3, “This is an evil among all things that are done under the sun, that there is one event unto all: yea, also the heart of the sons of men is full of evil, and madness is in their heart while they live, and after that they go to the dead.”  We’re all the same. No one better than the other person. God has been so gracious to me. If He had not chosen to work in my life, I’d be in bad shape right now.  I have no right to think I’m doing better than anyone else.

So yes, all is vanity… except when I am living for the Lord. He leads me, and I learn to follow Him. I grow and find satisfaction in my Saviour above all.

We all live. We’re all evil. We all need to fear God. We all need to obey whatever He says.

I’m so pleased that there are other ladies out there reading, studying, and allowing God to change them. Even though it can be hard, humbling, and painful at times to be on the road I’m on, I’m so glad that its the road God has chosen for me.

God is so good. All the time.

Here is Mr.Linky for all of your reviews. I look forward to reading any and all of them! :)

4 responses »

  1. Oh hi! Just letting you know that I will be starting Matthew with y’all this week. If I tell you, then that holds me accountable. So there, I said it. I will participate next friday whether it be long or short :)

  2. I am with you on the “Vanity” thing Shannon. If the reading of this book did nothing else for me, it did make me ask myself, ” what am I doing what I do for? what is the purpose?” If it is not to please my Saviour, it is all vanity.
    Thanks for choosing this book, it was great to show me and I imagine others what truly is important – My Saviour First of All. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving Day!!

  3. I finally posted my Ecclesiates 7-12 review. It is different, but felt it was needed to be posted. Thank you so much for doing these readings. I hated reading this book but got so much out of it.

Leave a Reply

