Book Review Friday: Proverbs Edition #3

Standard

If you do not know about Book Review Friday already, please check out my sidebar and join in wherever we’re at. You won’t regret getting to know The Book and the One who wrote it!! :)

Continue reading your Proverbs chapter of the day this week, and add chapter 28 to one of the days. When we complete this weeks Book Review assignment, we will have read through all of Proverbs.

There were a lot of verses that could go along with my ‘family relationship’ theme I have going. Sometimes I think there is too much, more conviction than I care to feel.  I’ll touch on just one of the points that I wrote down. It isn’t anything new or ground breaking, but a reminder that this girl needs many days.

Proverbs 14: 4, 14 are verses that I normally wouldn’t have thought had much to do with each other. It just goes to show that the more you read, the more you see. :)  vs 4 says, ” Where no oxen are, the trough is clean; But much increase comes by the strength of an ox.”, vs 14 says, “The backslider in heart will be filled with his own ways, But a good man will be satisfied from above.”

Every time I’ve read that verse about oxen, I’ve been reminded that the mess, noise, & dirt that comes with my children, cow, & chickens are really blessings. I would miss them if they were gone (my children more so, of course :) . They themselves are blessings that bring more blessings along with them. I can gripe & complain about the state of my house very easily, its a lot of work! Children are physically, spiritually, emotionally, a lot of work. I can get so caught up in how hard it is for me that I forget how good & wonderful it really is for me too. This is all good things that God has seen fit to bring my way, I need to be thankful. How I would miss it all, even the work too, if all of a sudden it was gone.

This week when I read verse 14 I saw a connection to the oxen verse. “The backslider in heart will be filled with his own ways, But a good man will be satisfied from above.” What I wrote in part of my notes that day was,” I can be filled with everything ‘I’ want, but it is the oxen that God gives that I will find satisfaction in.”  Whatever lot in life, whatever God has put in my care is the only place I will truly be satisfied. Until I have learned to find the oxen a blessing, I will not be truly content. I need to love exactly where I am and who I am with, at the place they are at, and the mess & work they make. That is where and how God has chosen to work in my life.

So, I need to work on being thankful for all those blessings no matter how hard they may be. Short & sweet review, but to the point. :)

Now for your reviews, link away. Remember to keep checking back over the next couple of days. Some ladies are very busy and can’t get a review posted for a day or two.

5 responses »

  1. Such a good review! I have thought about this a lot this week in light of lots of bad news. I love how you said ‘I would miss it all, even the work too, if all of a sudden it was gone.’ This is so true!

    Sometimes I see an older woman look longingly at me as I nurse or bounce my baby, or chase Leah to the park. I know many women wish they could go back to when their children were little… maybe wish they had spent more time cuddling than cleaning the toilets. The time passes so fast…

  2. Good thought. I am also one that needs to be reminded of the goodness of God, I have so many things to be thankful for – most of all my salvation. Time goes by so fast, enjoy your children even in the midst of so many things to do. All too soon they have left the nest.

Leave a Reply

