Book Review Friday: Proverbs Edition #2

Standard

If you do not know about Book Review Friday, please check it out on my sidebar and you’ll get all the details and find out where we are reading. Jump in wherever we are and, I promise you, you won’t regret it! :)

We are still reading away in Proverbs. Half way through the chapters and we’re learning lots… at least we’re supposed to be. :) Keep reading the Proverb of the day BUT MAKE SURE YOU READ THE NEXT SENTENCE!!! Tomorrow you will read Proverbs 13 & 27, all on the same day. We want to finish up the entire book in 4 weeks, and reading an extra chapter this week will keep us right on track.

Another great week of reading, lightbulb moments, and conviction here at Watchthesky.  There is a lot of verses dedicated to keeping those young men (and women) pure, throughout Proverbs, especially in the first few chapters.  Reading these is a constant reminder to teach my children self-control & modesty. I don’t want my girls to be that ‘strange woman’, and I don’t want any of my boys to be weak enough to give in to one.

I’ll just touch on one particular section I read, for today. It is from Prov 7:1-3,

“My son, keep my words, and lay up my commandments with thee. Keep my commandments, and live; and my law as the apple of thine eye. Bind them upon thy fingers, write them upon the table of thine heart.”

Them’s strong words pilgrim! While my children are growing, even more so before they can read, I am their Bible. They believe whatever I tell them, and they follow my example in all that I do. Most days I cannot say to my children to say what I say, or do what I do, and you will be well. If they follow my example there would be a lot of heart ache in years to come. So much of what I read reminds me that in order to raise my children to be all that God wants them to be, I have to be all God wants me to be. Grouchy, self-concerned, lazy, impatient mothers do not end up with  pleasant, thoughtful, hard working, patient children. It is so much easier to say, “Do as I say, not as I do”. 

This brings me to another subject involving our Book Review Friday. I am finding that when I read my Bible in this way it brings about change in the most exciting way. While we can read our Bibles and grow in knowledge, that isn’t really of any good to us. If we just keep learning new things and just enjoy ‘the study’ of the Word, we are just beating the air (I forget where that verse is).  When I read each verse searching for anything that has to do with my faults, it humbles me. It forces me to go to the Lord, confess, and ask for Him to change me. It just happens. Its automatic.

I’ve thought many times of reminding you all to pray as you do your study. I have to remind myself many times. It is important. But when I am concentrating all my thoughts in this one area, it just seems to happen without realizing it. When you grow closer to the Lord & see how He is changing you it just naturally turns to prayer.
What do you think? Has the same happened to you?

Now, please add your link to Mr.Linky waiting patiently down here for you. I love seeing those reviews pop up!! I know it is extra hard for a few ladies these days with newborns keeping them extra busy and tired. :)

9 responses »

  1. I read your review after writing mine, and it is funny to see how we both kind of thought of the same things reading these chapters. :)

  2. I think I’m doing my reading wrong. I don’t include Friday’s chapter in my review. I always start a new week on Friday and write a review for Friday to Thursday’s chapter. Will that mess me up in the end? Not that it is earth shattering to read an extra chapter at the end.

  3. Thanks for the review. It was a reminder to me to pray as I read God’s Word. God is so good to keep working in our lives as we read His Word and obey what He shows us . We don’t always realize the changes He is making in us, but others do. Have a great Lord’s day.

  4. How come anniepannie’s link to her blog (via her name) comes up with a notification that her blog’s been deleted?? I remember that happening once before. I REALLY want to read her review – someone help me!!

Leave a Reply

