Book Review Friday: Proverbs Edition

Standard

If you do not know what we’re doing in Book Review Friday, just check out this link and you’ll get all the info you need. If you would like to know more about Book Review Friday, look at my sidebar for the whole scoop. For those of you who know what is going on, keep reading the Proverb of the day and making notes! :)

So I’m getting to this very late. All day long I kept realizing that it is Friday and I have a Mr.Linky to post for the millions waiting to link away. I stayed away because of party plans. We had company and some chillaxing to do after a week of getting back into the school groove. It was nice.

Anyway, without further delay, I will move on to my own review and then leave you with the chance to link your own. Remember that no matter how little you think you have to say, or want to say, you will be encouraging the other ladies & spurring them on to do one themselves. Remember. :)

The weakness I chose for myself to study out in Proverbs is how I treat my husband & family. I’ll spare you the details of my self-centered parenting & marriage and just tell you it needs some work. Proverbs is a deep, gut-wrenching, self-awareness lesson no matter what I study. 

It is a long hard battle to win my heart into loving my family and just enjoying them. But Proverbs has had ample ammunition to start working on me in this area over the past week. I started on Thursday, which means that I read things like, “Like a roaring lion and a charging bear is a wicked ruler over poor people.” 28:15  That’s what I feel like as a mom  to those poor little people who had no choice which parents they would get. Nuf said.

Prov.29:22 was also an eye opener for me as well. “An angry man stirs up strife, and a furious man abounds in transgression.”  So many times when things are tense in the house, or my children are acting up, or my husband is moody & stressed, they are just following my lead. They are my own creation.  I am, therefore, they are. Scary.

I love looking through Proverbs. It also hurts. From what I’ve heard from others, they feel the same way. We can’t just read and write anymore, this study is getting personal. It is forcing us to look deeper, at ourselves. It is forcing us to see more of what God sees in us. It’s a good thing. 

Whether you share it with us all or not, keep getting personal in Proverbs. I guarantee that by the end of the month you will see a difference and Praise the Lord for His work in your life!

Now here is Mr.Linky (I still can’t figure out how to get it to show up properly) for any reviews that will be shared.  Link away all you millions!

6 responses »

  1. I didn’t read yours because you convinced me that my non-review is actually a review and I will try to get it done tomorrow. Then I’ll make the rounds and see what everyone else has to say.

  2. The verses you focused on really do made us take a deeper look at how we are with family and friends and certainly areas we can all take note of and strive to change in our lives. I am with Jenn on this new format of BRF with the one chapter a day and writing down verses where we are being convicted, challenged, encouraged, and learning.

  3. My reviews up now. Though short (when you read it you’ll know why), I’m pleased to have kept up with our reading, done a bit of journaling, and followed through with the post. By necessity, lots of things are on the “back burner” right now, but this isn’t one of them!

  4. I never noticed the ‘wicked ruler’ verse in reference to parenting. This is a great review. So much to learn, so much to change…

Leave a Reply

