Book Review Friday: 2 Samuel 12-15

Standard

If you don’t know what Book Review Friday is all about please check out my sidebar and you’ll get the low down on it all. Feel free to jump in wherever we are reading, we love to see new ladies excited about getting into God’s Word!!

First things first, we’ll read 2 Samuel 16-19 every day until next Friday. We’re getting to know God’s Word better one verse, one chapter, one book, at a time. :)

I have a precious few minutes to write my review down. We have a sick little boy in the house. I’ve also been trying to catch up on housework after our berry picking adventures of the past 2 weeks. Yikes!

Reading chapters 12-15 was eye opening. I have never heard of most of the events & names involved in this book. The first thing I was struck by was David’s repentant heart. When all that he had done finally sunk in and he realized that a life, his little boy’s, would be lost he came around. God got ahold of his heart once again. David did everything he could think of to change the outcome and show the Lord his change of heart. Fasting and praying with all his might. But it didn’t change what would happen.

What got me was that when his son did die David went and worshipped the Lord. 12:20 “So David arose from the ground washed and anointed himself, and changed his clothes, and he when into the house of the Lord and worshiped.” Thatis true repentance!  When someone goes through rough times and remains in a state of worship to their God it says a lot. David had the mind that God recieve the glory no matter what happens. Big lesson for me. I don’t act like that when I have to deal with a little change in my schedule let alone my child dying. God has so much work to do with me!

I was shocked, & sickened by the story of Amnon and Tamar. Sickened. Gross. But I can relate to the idea of how alluring sin can be until we get what we want. We can turn from loving what we shouldn’t do to hating it but unable to undo what we’ve done.  That verse in 13:15 “Then Amnon hated her exceedingly, so that the hatred with which he hated her was greater than the love with which he had loved her. And Amnon said to her, ‘Arise, be gone!'” 

I also see yet again how our lives affect our children. David had one child die and lots of bad fall outs with the rest of his kids. It is important to live our lives blamelessly before our children. I’d rather have good consequences rather than the bad kind.

That’s all I’ve got time for. Not deep, but again, I did get a lot more out of it than I can take time to show here. I’ll look forward to seeing any review that show up on Mr.Linky, so link away!!

3 responses »

  1. Sorry Shannon, no review from me again this week. Thank you for sharing the things you seen; it truly is important how we live our lives not only in our homes but in our churches, community and beyond. Someone is always watching our lives. David’s sin gave occasion for the cause of Christ to be blasphemed. There was so much to take from this week’s reading and many examples of snares to be avoided as we live our daily lives.

  2. I just wrote a long thorough explanation of the powerful work the Lord did in me this week through our readings, but lost my internet connection and also my writings — I didn’t notice that it wasn’t saving along the way, so when I hit “publish” it just went to the error. aarrggh. I will work on it again some more, but it will take awhile. The very beginnings are readable, if you like – or stop by later to read the whole thing!

  3. Sorry about that – My previous comment links to my other blog, rather than the Trees and Thorns one. This should be right!! I HOPE!!

Leave a Reply

