Book Review Friday: Galatians

Standard

If you would like to know what Book Review Friday is just check out my sidebar and we’d love to have you join in wherever we are reading! :)

First things first, we just have to move back to Samuel this week!! :) Read 2 Samuel 1-6 everyday until next Friday and we’ll meet back here to see what everyone has to say about all those truths just waiting to be found!

I really love Galatians. I really do. A book about the Law & Christian liberty. This book makes it all so plain and clear to me. My favourite verse from Galatians is 5:4, “You have become estranged from Christ, you who attempt to be justified by law; you have fallen from grace.”  I’ve been in on conversations with people who were legalistic in the area of how to ‘keep the Sabath’. I’ve talked with people who believed that we lose our salvation every time we sin until we confess that sin, and then we can have it back again. Scary. It is these kinds of things that people are attempting to be justified by the Law and not believing the truth about God’s wonderful grace.

Paul takes the time in his letter to explain that we aren’t to hold ourselves to ‘the list’. There is so much more to the Christian life than the do’s & don’ts. 5:18 “But if you are led by the Spirit you are not under the law.”  When we are saved, that law is not needed. I’m not saying the Law isn’t important, its just that this book says over and over again how that Christ living in us actually produces righteousness and makes us heirs of an awesome promise, the Law can’t do that. The Law is there to show us our need for Christ. (This is the witnessing strategy set in place by God’s Word. Show people their sin through the Law. They will see they cannot please God and see their need to repent.) 

Like the book says, if the flesh has been crucified we are now walking in the Spirit with Christ and this will be evidenced by the fruits of the Spirit given in chapter 5. I can examine my own life and see where I stand. If I look more like list one (works of the flesh) given in chapter 5:19, then I know I’m missing out on something big. If I look more like list 2 (the fruit of the Spirit) given in 5:22-23, then I know that Christ is at work in me and He is in control. Am I allowing faith to take control or have I ‘fallen from grace’ and been attempting to live out my own rendition of the gospel?

I have much more written in my little notebook but no time to write more. It was a good week reading and I hope that if you read along you were encouraged as well. :)

Here is Mr.Linky for anyone who takes the time to post their review. A reminder to anyone that does not have a blog but would like to write a review to post, just email it to me at bookreviewfriday@hotmail.comand I can post it on my separate blog for you.  I’m nice like that. :)

 

 

4 responses »

  1. It seems I may have gotten on Freedom’s soap box this week – but the Lord is passionate about it, and I suppose it’s okay if I am too!! Can’t wait to read what the rest of you drew from the Scripture this week.

  2. Just wanted to add that I LOVE your words –>
    “If I look more like list one (works of the flesh) given in chapter 5:19, then I know I’m missing out on something big.”

    SOMETHING BIG!! Something MORE beautiful. Something MORE right. Something MORE significant. Something eternal rather than temporary. SOMETHING as opposed to NOTHING, when it all gets sifted through, and tested by fire.

    “If any man builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, his work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each man’s work. If what he has built survives, he will receive his reward. If it is burned up, he will suffer loss; he himself will be saved, but only as one escaping through the flames.”
    1 Corinthians 3:12-15.

    Like you, I don’t want to MISS OUT on any BIG somethings. Praise to the Holy Spirit who brings us His Heavenly wisdom!

  3. I have just recently came across this reading study and really like it. I will be able to remember Galations much better now, which will hopefully help me to remember to keep my freedom in Christ alive. Thank you for all the time and commitment it takes to keep at it.

Leave a Reply

