Book Review Friday: 1 Samuel 1-6

Standard

I’m finally getting around to my review. We are on the mend with the ear infections it would seem, and I think 2 of the kids are going to avoid it thanks to consuming a crazy amount of acidolpholis. But now I will attempt to write a review as the oldest two children do up the breakfast dishes and the younger two play in the rec room/ school room/ sewing room/ library. :)

The story of Samuel was always pretty straight forward to me growing up. All those lessons that I remember learning from Hannah & Samuel were good, but nothing new. This time through I ended up with some questions. I certainly wouldn’t have made a good Hannah.
The first thing was that Hannah took Samuel to live with Eli for the rest of his life. What hit me was that she would even consider giving her son up to a man who had proved himself a poor father. It was no secret that Eli’s sons had grown up to be ungodly men. Everyone around would have known of their sinful example, but Hannah left Samuel in Eli’s charge. Actually, after I thought about it I realized that Hannah ‘believed in her God’ the way Daniel did and the way I want to. Hannah left Samuel in God’s hands, not Eli’s. That would have been sooooo hard, I wouldn’t have.

The next thing I pondered was the vow Hannah made. I know if I had been in Hannah’s shoes I would have been willing to promise anything to God in order to have a child. But when the time came to actually give my child up I would have had many reasons for not following through. Eli’s previous example in fatherhood would have been used as a big excuse. But I believe Hannah’s heart was right. This was not a Jephthah type of vow (see Judges 11:29-40). Because of Hannah’s faith, vow, obedience, and heart of praise God used Samuel to do amazing things.  I’m not a Hannah, but I’d like to be.

Another thing was that there is even more evidence for election in these scriptures. Samuel was working in the temple with Eli for years with knowledge of God, even doing the work in the temple. But he didn’t know God. 3:7 “Now Samuel did not yet know the Lord, nor was the word of the Lord yet revealed to him.” God came to Samuel and Samuel didn’t recognize Him. God chose to reveal Himself to Samuel. Seems pretty plain to me.

Another point was a great warning to raise my children to fear the Lord. 3:13 “For I have told him that I will judge his house forever for the iniquity which he knows, because his sons made themselves vile, and he did not restrain them.” If there is one word that could describe most of the kids in the world today it could probably be ‘unrestrained’. This verse says basically that the state of sinfulness in Eli’s sons was his fault. He did not restrain them as they grew and look where they ended up. A fathers training is so important. If parents set a good, godly example before their children but do not train them in & expect godliness from the children then we end up being Eli ourselves. It will bring judgment and heartache. I’d like to avoid that.

There is more of course about the ark being captured and all that happened around that. I don’t think I had ever read chapters 4-6 before. But I don’t have time right now to write more. Loving 1 Samuel though. Now I must get on with life. Laundry, sweeping, mopping, scrubbing, cooking, medications…. ah, this is the life. :)

3 responses »

  1. You wrote: “The first thing was that Hannah took Samuel to live with Eli for the rest of his life. What hit me was that she would even consider giving her son up to a man who had proved himself a poor father. It was no secret that Eli’s sons had grown up to be ungodly men. Everyone around would have known of their sinful example, but Hannah left Samuel in Eli’s charge.”

    I discussed the way Samuel reflcts Jesus, but I totally missed this–just as Hannah gave up Samuel to a provedly (is that a word?) imperfect father, so God gave up His Son to provedly imperfect parents. Wow. It takes your breath away, doesn’t it? And God works it all for good in the end anyway. Wow.

  2. Great review shannon, I missed that too about how Hannah would have known Eli was not a good fatherly example. Great thinking. Just proves even more how much faith Hannah had in God. I want to be a Hannah too!

  3. Good review Shannon, I also think that Hannah would have known Eli’s tract record as a parent. I wish I too had the trust and faith that Hannah had, she kept her promise and I’m sure it must have been hard to let her little boy go. I have much to learn and I am thankfull for the reviews. I tried to leave a comment on Ruth’s but I guess I don’t have the right blog. It’s good to see another lady come on board. OOOPPPSSS this is becoming a review so I will say good-nite:):)

Leave a Reply

