Book Review: Take 2

Standard

My review was bothering me. I really wasn’t sure that I’d grasped things properly and asked hubby to read what I wrote. We had a long discussion and I’m here to fix up a couple points. I understand that I didn’t say anything unbiblical in my review yesterday, but I misunderstood Jude a bit. :(

First, I honestly didn’t realize that the book was talking about apostates infiltrating the church. We are to be on our guard and not allow these false teachers in.  Instead of worrying that I might become the ‘spot’ that Jude was talking about, I need to be grounded in the Word so that I won’t be taken in by these false guys. Hubby and I had a long talk about the difference between false teachers and those who have become ‘shipwrecked in the faith’.  The problem we have today is that we have been influenced by false teaching and not cleansed it as we should to the point that we start mimicking the world. By that I meant we can become ‘spots’. Now I know that spot actually is talking about those false teachers among us in our church. I can’t be a spot, only a bad testimony for Christ. Terminology you know. :)

The whole of Jude was a warning against those false teachers and then in verse 22 or 23 he mentions us true Christians, “Beloved”. That’s when we are exhorted to be in the word, pray, love, believe in our God.

I probably missed a few things that I was mistaken in my review. I don’t have my Bible with me at this moment. I just had to clear this up, it’s been bothering me all night and before breakfast the fix-it job just had to be done! :)

So, I’m going to go check out my review comments and see if anyone was brave enough to mention my mistake. I hope so. After all, you can’t allow those false teachers to be ignored!!! :)

 

2 responses »

  1. Good points I agree with your hubby about the Jude 4-23 is all about the apostates. Pastor Davis taught on verse 24 and 25 this morning and what a blessing and relief it is to know that it is God not not of myself that will keep me from falling, “to know that Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy,To the only wise God our Saviour, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen”. Thanks Shannon there is much to learn in God’s Word and somethings as Paul said are “hard to be understood” and many things we won’t understand until we stand before our Saviour. Have a great day.

  2. Jude was small but meaty, wasn’t it? So much to learn it can be overwhelming…the whole Bible is like that but I’m glad to be learning it :)

    Hope your family is feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

