BRF: Psalm 9-17

Standard

If you don’t know what Book Review Friday is, please check my sidebar for all the details. I dare you to take part, it’ll change your life!

First things first, I’m moving on to Jude for the next week. I hope you all will join me. It is a short book and we’ve done it before. I was reminded of it this week and was embarrassed to find that I couldn’t remember much of what it was about. So I’m going to tackle it again and this time I’m sure a little more will stick. I’m looking forward to it. :)

I enjoyed Psalms, I think we all did. I was convicted by the very first 2 verses in chapter 9. My pastor, messages I’ve listened to this week, my reading… all telling me to praise the Lord. I tried to think of when I actually did this and couldn’t really think of anything. My mind is usually just taken up in the next task at hand and I don’t make the effort in what I’m doing at the moment to give glory to God.  Gotta change.

For the most part chapters13-16 this week were what I dwelt on.  It is a bit of a personal testimony that most of you have probably heard a few times over. These verses were some that I had read and re-read in some very dark times.

“How long shall I take counsel in my soul, Having sorrow in my heart daily?”  13:2

I was very low, very unhappy. Life was a moment by moment struggle. I was far away from any family, my marriage was painful, depression plaguing me worse each time I had a baby. I really felt that I was the walking dead. I think the Lord brought me to that place where I was completely on my own and feeling this way for a few years to create in me a desire to know Him. Because I was desperate I started living off of the Scriptures. I read them morning, noon, and night. Most of the time I saw answers there and was just too tired and depressed to do anything about it, but I kept reading. That reading sparked a prayer life. Because I was reading God’s Word, He was showing me how much I am in need of His strength. I began praying almost every moment I breathed.  It was during the first part of this transition that I came upon Psalm 13. The first few verses caught my attention because I felt like the writer had been spying on me. That was exactly how I felt. I thought there would be an answer to my problem before the chapter was done. I was not disappointed.

“But I have trusted in Your mercy; My heart shall rejoice in Your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, Because He has dealt bountifully with me.” 13:6

Trust, rejoice, sing to the Lord. Trust, because He promises deliverance. maybe that deliverance will come soon, maybe it will come when I see Him face to face, but it will come. Rejoice because I’m saved. I was lost but am found by my Saviour. He could have left me a sinner destined to hell, but He chose me! I’m already saved, I just haven’t been delivered from this cruel world yet. Sing to the Lord because of all He has already done for me. It is possible to rejoice by yourself, quietly, but when you keep rejoicing it naturally starts to show. If someone is singing you will know it. You hear them and what you sing speaks to others around you. I wondered what kind of song people were hearing from my life as I walked, defeated, one day after another. Not a very nice song. That had to change.

I had ups and downs after this realization. At one point I was in the doctors office getting a prescription passed to me. God was there delivering me yet again though. When the doctor said, “Just go home and take these and you’ll feel much better”,  it just didn’t seem right. I know the Holy Spirit was warning me against those pills. I went home and started plugging away at my Bible study and prayer instead. I didn’t want to treat the symptoms and carry on with life, I wanted to kill whatever was robbing me of the ‘fullness of joy’ that I knew was out there somewhere.

 This is where Book Review Friday really started. I was a desperate, unhappy women that had no where to go but to her Bible. I heard John MacArthur speaking about getting to know the scriptures. If you want to know the Bible you’ve got to read it over, and over, and over, and over again, is what he was explaining.  Psalm 16:8, “I have set the Lord always before me; Because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.”  I highlighted this verse. I was claiming this as a promise to myself. If I keep plugging away with reading and praying, ‘someday God will do an awesome work and I will be be grounded in Him’ I thought. Hope had made its way into my thoughts. And then a few verses down I highlighted some more. “You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasure forevermore.” vs11.    Oh yeah, that’s what I was looking for.

I can’t boast of anything that happened. It was all God’s work in an unhappy & sinful life. Even the desire to start reading His Word was all from Him. I’m thankful He was there to work in my life, that He chose to work.  Of course, I still have moments of defeat, that’s life. But God has done awesome things for us at Watchthesky, and these verses will always mean a lot to me.

O Lord, You are the portion of my inheritance and my cup; You maintain my lot. The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; Yes, I have a good inheritance. 16:5,6

Here is Mr.Linky for all those reviews that are going to be pouring in. :) Remember, short & sweet or long & deep. Either way doesn’t matter, they are all an encouragement to those faithfully getting into the Word!

 

3 responses »

  1. Shannon, this is one of my favorite reviews of yours I think. Probably because I know EXACTLY what you speak of with the depression etc. I also know what you speak of with the deliverance from it. Except somewhere along the way I got back down in it…seems harder to get out the second time :) Maybe becuase it’s a little different or maybe because I’m a little stubborn. Anyway, my point is, thanks for posting that. It was a good reminder to me of where I’ve been and what God has done for me.

  2. What a great review, Shannon and very helpful thoughts for me to remember when I get down. I have been where you talked about in your life only thing is at that time I wasn’t interested in finding out what God had to say. I am so thankful that I turned to Him and His Word for comfort and instruction for every situation in my life. I am truly thankful that He heard me after all the years of living my own empty life. I may not get a review done this week as I am going out of town but will try. We are just finishing a study of Jude in our adult Sunday School so I am looking forward to sharing what the Lord has/is teaching me.

  3. This was very good. I have experienced similar things. I enjoyed reading about how God drew you to Himself through His word. Do you do this every Friday? I may try to participate in the future.

Leave a Reply

