Book Review Friday: Romans 14-16 (Edited)

Standard

If you would like to know what Book Review Friday is all about please check out my sidebar and feel free to join in with us as we really get to know God’s Word in a really simple way.

First things first, I’m moving us on to Pslams again. If you remember awhile ago we read Psalm 1-8. This week I’m suggesting Psalm 9-17. It isn’t a long portion for us all to keep up with but there is always so much in each Psalm that we’ll have lots to talk about by next Friday I’m sure. :)

I’ll be adding my review this evening. I have some good excuses for being late: I’m a mom, I’m having tea with a friend in a bit, and I’m grocery shopping with Seven this afternoon. My review shall have to go on the back burner until these things have all passed. :)

Until then, you’ll have to just put up your own reviews and I will read them when I have completed my own. Remember my double dog dare, you still have until midnight technically to get Romans 14-16 read and a short & sweet, or long and deep review up! :)

******************************************************************************************************************

Here is my review finally. Busy days. Friends, sisters, kids, dogs, cows… busy.

Romans 14-16 good. I read all the chapters most of the days I think. I can’t be sure, but I think I did. The only chapter that I really got anything out of was 14. The first thing I thought as I read it was that it was a passage many Christians would use to excuse unbiblical behaivor. The ‘what right do we have to judge another’s convictions’ mentality. However, if anyone was to think that it means that they are totally taking it all out of context. Remembering what the whole book of Romans was talking about up to this point, no longer being under the law but instead having it written on our hearts, gives us the background needed to understand the concept in chapter 14. We are to present our bodies as sacrifices to God and live holy and acceptable lives to God in light of scripture. When we are living this way and see another believer stumbling because we do things like ‘attend movie theatres’, play cards, celebrate easter morning with egg hunts, and all other gray areas, we avoid them out of Christian love so that we do not cause them to act against their conscience, thus affecting their realtionship with the Lord.

I’ll be explaining to my children about 14:14 “I know and am convinced by the Lord Jesus that there is nothing unclean of itself; but to him who considers anything to be unclean, to him it is unclean.” They need to know that ‘when in doubt, don’t’ is a good rule of thumb in life. Even if we think something is wrong and it really isn’t, it is a sin to do it. 

And one  of the last times I read these chapters 14:7,8 hit me. “For none of us lives to himself, and no one dies to himself. For if we live, we live to the Lord; and if we die, we die to the Lord. Therefore, whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s.”  I think it’s self explanatory. Good verses. We can live like God is God and offer ourselves as sacrifice’s, holy & acceptable and be used in awesome ways, or we can choose to live for self and He is still God and will still be glorified by our lives. The latter may not be so pretty though. Remember another verse in Proverbs says that he has even created the wicked for the day of doom.  Not so cool.

So that’s my review. If you actually took the time to read it, thanks. :) Now I’ll go check out any others that may have linked.

Here’s Mr.Linky for y’all

7 responses »

  1. I only read it once. There’s a whole lot there that I want to know more about, so I hope to make time to read it af ew more times this weekend. Definitely the judging part. I am so tired of “judge not” and want to know what God really means. About 14:14, my kids have been punished for doing something that wasn’t wrong, but they did it thinking it was wrong. I know exactly what you’re saying. And I think we all need constant reminding to live for the Lord and not for self. Except me, of course. :)

  2. Some good thoughts, Shannon. I need to be reminded often that I am supposed to be “doing all as unto the Lord” all the time. It is a continual challenge, but one day it will be worth it all.

Leave a Reply

