Book Review Friday: Ezra

Standard

If you are annoyed by the lateness of BRF showing up please see previous post for a really good excuse as to why it’s late. Thanks so much. :)

First things first, let’s read…. ummmmm…. how about 1 Peter this week? Sounds good to me! :) It’s much shorter than Ezra so there should be no problem in getting it all figured out within the 7 days, right? :)

As for Ezra, I could do with another month on that book. I loved it and I’m not even really sure why yet. Maybe it’s the oncoming cold in my head blocking all good sense. I will attempt to put just a portion of what struck me from the reading this past week.

It’s really late and I desperately need to get to bed so I’ll keep this short yet again. I’ll just deal with good ol’ Ezra himself right now. The very first verse that stood out to me was 7:10
“For Ezra had prepared his heart to seek the Law of the Lord, and to do it, and to teach statutes and ordinances in Isreal.”
Can I put my own name in that verse??? ‘For Shannon had prepared her heart to seek the law of the Lord and to do it.’ I’d like to think so, but I know better. It’s a great story to read about other people way back when, but when the Lord starts making it personal in my own heart, it becomes more than just biblical history, I start to get convicted.

I have failed in the past to purpose to do the right thing no matter what. Then I read about all these captives that realized they were living in sin and then they seek to make it right. They’ve been living with the Canaanites, the Hittites, and all those other ‘ites’ for a long time. They would have been quite comfortable in their sin by now. I find it very exciting that they all were convicted and repented and sought to put away their sinful life. It would not have been an easy task.

God was very gracious to them, and it is a reminder to me that I have that same God and need to be thankful. The thing that keeps me from being thankful is pride. Someone who is proud cannot be truly thankful I think, that’s coming from someone who finds it a great struggle. :( We really do have a patient and gracious God, but we must remember to fear Him.
“Then everyone who trembled at the words of the God of Israel assembled to me, because the transgression of those who had been carried away captive,” 9:4
Have you ever trembled from your fear of the Lord. If we are not driven out of Love to obedience then the knowlege of who God truly is should be enough to keep us on the straight and narrow. But, it is true that we have lost our reverance for God and what He has called us to. We spend our time trying to figure out how much we can get away with and still carry the name Christian, or we spiritualize our own wants and somehow make ourselves believe they are actually God’s will for us. I consider 9:8 a warning for us as well. If we take the time to ponder where our fluffy Christianity is taking us today these words will hold much meaning and urge us to quickly repent and get moving for the Glory of God, not our own happiness.
“And now for a little while grace has been shown from the Lord our God, to leave us a remnant to escape, and to give us a peg in His holy place, that our God may enlighten our eyes and give us a measure of revival in our bondage.” That’s what we need, revival! As Christians most of us are so caught up in living for ourselves we have no idea we’re in bondage. In fact, we’re quite happy to carry on as we are. Meanwhile God and His temple are being ignored and left in ruins. I need to get serious and see what needs to be done to repair that foundation that was talked about in chapter 3. Once the proper foundation is laid then the Lord can get to work on the rest and make a temple to glorify Himself in.

Well, it’s time for bed. That’s all I’ll say for a review. I could go on and on about so many other things! I hope to see some reviews to see what you all found for yourselves. :)
I’m so sorry that I don’t have a Mr.Linky for you all. I’m having a hard time setting it up for this blog (story of my life). If you have a review please leave a comment so that people can find it and I’ll see what I can do to make Mr.Linky and Mr.Blogger get along. :)

Meanwhile have a great Thanksgiving weekend!!

2 responses »

  1. Hellooooo. My computer finally got set up and I once again have internet access! Life will soon be UNcrazy for a change and I’ll be posting a review next week for 1 Peter :) I love the reviews I read of Ezra. Got me fired up and scared all at the same time.

Leave a comment