Book Review Friday: Acts 8-15

Standard

First things first, we’ll be reading Acts chapters 16-21 for next Friday’s review.

I’ll have to admit that it has been a bit of a challenge at finding the time needed to read the chapters all in one sitting this past week. We started school and that seems to be enough to take away any extra time that I thought I used to have. I have read chapters 8-15 a few times but I don’t have an exact count. It might be 4 times I read through, it might be 3, I honestly don’t know. But here’s a few little tidbits that stood out to me while I read. One thing I am finding is that the New Testament has many more baffling parts than I have found in the Old T. That’s something I never thought would happen. :)

I just love the over all simplicity of the early church. They weren’t worried about having a great sunday school program. They weren’t doing their best to have the best ‘worship’ music around. They weren’t even striving to be spiritual, God did that for them. These people just heard the message of repentance and that Christ could save them from their sin and they followed His teachings. They prayed, the fasted, they encouraged and taught each other, they were filled with the Holy Spirit,they had joy.

The filling of the Holy Spirit is one thing that got my attention. We don’t hear about that much any more. It would seem that none of us are concerned in our day to day lives about being completely filled with the Spirit. I know that the thought of praying for this in my own life has not entered my little brain for years. It’s not hard to notice, I know.  What would our church be like if we all were seeking the Lord to fill us with His Spirit. We would have a real love for our fellow brothers and sisters in Christ, and we would have the same boldness in speaking of Christ.

I have a new hero in Acts that I never knew about before. Cornelius was a great guy. “a devout man and one who feared God with all his household, who gave alms generously to the people, and prayed to God always.” 10:2  Yep, Cornelius is one of those quiet heroes who just lived out his faith daily in an unassuming way.

My time is up so that is all I can write. I’ll be looking forward to seeing who shows up on Mr.Linky this week. And if you’d like to join in with us check out the Book Review Friday ditty to see what it’s all about and then start reading! :)

Comments are closed.