Book Review Friday: Acts 16-21

Standard

First things first, :) we’re going to finish up in Acts this time around. Woo-Hoo! So it’s on to chapters 22-28 this week. I love Acts. It’s leaving me with so many verses I don’t understand, but a lot I do. I’m excited to read other books and experience ‘scripture interpreting scripture’ for myself.

As may be the case for quite some time, I am short on time to write down much of what struck me this week. I’ll stick with one general thought. It’s a thought that has come out in every book we’ve read, but it’s always fresh and exciting, and convicting no matter how often.

"And see, now I go bound in the spirit to Jerusalem, not knowing the things that will happen to me there, except that the Holy Spirit testifies in every city, saying that chains and tribulations await me. But none of these things move me, nor do I count my life dear to myself, so that I may finish my race with joy, and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God." 20:22-24

Paul knew what it was all about. He was okay with whatever happened to him no matter how bad or painful it was because he was only concerned with giving Glory to God. I always let you know what a scary thing that is for me. I do not find surrender easy. The thing that struck me was that Paul was banking on this kind of living to bring him ultimately to joy. If I am looking for real joy in my life (and I must say that I am on a daily basis) then I need to look no further than this. It’s just so hard to give it all over to begin with, that’s all.

Along with these thoughts there is a verse in Proverbs that rolls around in my head a lot these days. "The Lord will not allow the righteous soul to famish." 10:3 I could be having a very bad, long, horrible day by my standards and this verse tells me that I just need to keep plugging away at doing the right things, all those things that my Bible tells me about, and acting in a way that God would be pleased with, and He will not let me wither away. He gives me strength to do what He wants me to do.

Paul understood all this. He knew it wasn’t about him, it’s all about the Lord. I just need to be reminded… every single day!

Well that’s all I have time for. I hope you all were able to find the time to do lots of Bible reading this past week. If you didn’t you still have the rest of your life to get on track and start in. :) And of course once you start in you could start writing down a few thoughts about it and link over here so we can all encourage one another.

Comments are closed.