Book Review Friday: Genesis 39-44

Standard

First things first, we’ll move on to Genesis chapters 45 – 50 for this coming week. That means that we will have finished with Genesis which means that summer will officially be over! Wow!! How fast time flies.

This was the first time in a few weeks that I have been able to set aside more time to read. I was getting pretty discouraged at missing so much as I wasn’t able to concentrate or retain anything I did read. So glad to be getting routines back in place because I learned some stuff this week. :)

The first thing that came to mind was that I am quite often like Pharaoh. That’s something new to me, I’ve never thought I was like him before. You see, Pharaoh was all ears about what God had to say when he was upset about his dreams and a little scared about the future. He had enough belief in God to scare him into doing the right thing with the interpretation so as to ensure his comfort when the going got tough, but without any true God-fearing attitude. I’ve been that way many times, simply obeying on the outside but trying to manipulate my own destiny by supposedly faking God out. You just never know what He might do if He really takes this stuff seriously and I don’t want to be caught on the wrong side, know what I mean?

So that was Pharaoh. As for Joseph, he is my new favourite Bible hero! I should have named one of my boys Joseph. God made him a strong man. Love it.

The main thing that got my attention right from the start all began when I read the words, "It is not in me; God will…", from 41:16. That is a biggy to realize folks. This fact of it having nothing to do with me and everything to do with God has been on my mind since the beginning of this BRF week but it took on a bit of a new meaning for me on Wednesday night. There was a guest speaker at Bible study and he mentioned a bit about human depravity. That’s not a topic that is discussed much anymore. It was a reminder I needed. Do you really believe you are completely depraved? Webster’s says that depraved means moral corruption. Complete human depravity is something I have no choice but to believe in because scripture tells me the bare facts, I am a sinner and "there is none righteous, no not one", and "all of our righteousness is as filthy rags". What’s the point in saying I don’t believe I am completely corrupt on my own, it’s true whether it’s admitted or not.

Anyway, all that to say that if I truly believe that I am completely depraved then I will hold God in the same place that Joseph did from our reading this week. Through the verses we are left in no doubt of the true author of Josephs story. Constantly there are verses saying things like, "The Lord was with Joseph…", "the Lord made all he did to prosper…", "the Lord blessed the Egyptians house…", "…because the Lord was with him…", "It is not in me; God will…", "God has shown Pharaoh…", "God has made me forget…", "For God has caused me to be fruitful…".  Did you see the pattern when you read it??? Isn’t it exciting to see stuff like that!? :)  So unless we see ourselves as we truly are we won’t place God in His rightful place in our lives. I need to see that I am completely dependent on God for every single thing as Joseph did and give God the credit for every single thing that happens just as Joseph did. I’ll say he learned to believe in God that way through all those nasty trials that the Lord put him through.

It feels like I just got one of those glimpses into something that I’m totally missing out on. You would think that when you realized just how much of a low-life sinner you are it would be depressing. But somehow it’s great news. Again I am reminded that it’s not up to me. Just obey and trust God with the outcome, He’s gonna have his way no matter what so I’d like to stick to the right side ( but unlike Pharaoh, for the right reason of course). :)

Okay, It’s time for me to stop rambling about Genesis and let you ramble about it. Looking forward to seeing who has a review this week. If you are new to Book Review Friday check out the info on my sidebar and join in on the experience with us ladies. Better yet, start up a blog so you can post a review. :)

Leave a Reply

