Book Review Friday: 1 Cor. 13-16

Standard

First things first, we will read through Judges in one month. The plan is 5 chapter’s a day for 3 of the weeks and 6 for the last. We CAN do it. I’m loving the Old Testament more and more the longer we continue with BRF. :) So we’re on to Judges 1-5 each day until next Friday.

As for 1 Corinthians 13-16 I was disappointed this week. My mind just isn’t grasping a whole lot lately. Maybe it’s because I’m still trying to get a handle on the previous chapters that were pretty heavy duty, along with that message at church on Sunday morning (that still isn’t available yet, sorry). Anyway, here’s what I did get out of it, for what it’s worth. :)

The love chapter is always convicting. I’ll say what I learned in this chapter 13 very plainly, I do not have a sweet clue how to love. God is going to have to work on me big time in that area.

The only thing I really understood about the whole ‘speaking in tongues’ issue is that I need to avoid the whole ‘speaking in tongues’ issue until I understand it more. :)

The only principle that really stuck out to me was in the last couple chapters about learning to die to self. Paul knew that he was who he was only because God had worked a miracle in him. He had found the secret of how to ‘die daily’. What is it really like to be so consumed with Christ and His will that all that matters to you is that God is glorified? I actually had an experience in understanding what that feels like in the past week. It lasted for all of 2 1/2 seconds. I’m being perfectly serious. I can’t forget what it was like. It was the most freeing 2 1/2 seconds of my life where I knew that God was in control and no matter what happened, good or bad, that His glory was accomplished and I was happy with that. Then the same old earthly cares and attention grabbers stole into my soul again and I had lost it before I even realized what was there. Just a flash of Him and I couldn’t hold onto it. I want it back to stay.

I just think of what that would have been like to be someone like Paul, who was a whole lot more practiced in the art of dying than I am. Who can tell what I will become if I die as scripture says. What exactly is God wanting to grow me into if " … what you sow, you do not sow that body that shall be, but mere grain – perhaps wheat or some other grain. But God gives it a body as He pleases, and in each seed it’s own body."15:37,38 Once I have died I will "awake to righteousness" and I’m sure that is where I will find more of the experience I lost in those couple of seconds.

Not a whole lot that I may have grasped but the concept I’m working on swallowing is huge. I’ll just leave you with one of my favourite verses. 16:13,14 "Watch, stand fast in the faith, be brave, be strong. Let all that you do be done with love."

Looking forward to seeing your reviews added to Mr. Linky! :)

Leave a Reply

