BRF: 1 Cor. 9-12, Edited

Standard

First things first, we shall continue our journey through 1 Corinthians by completing chapters 13-16 for next Friday. It’s been a great book and I’ve learned a lot!

Now as for my review tonight. Given the circumstances of the week my review will be somewhat short again. I didn’t read it everyday and that may be is the reason I didn’t have such a great week I’m sure. But in the times I read it a couple simple things were impressed upon me.

Paul was focusing people again. Don’t get caught up in what you can get away with doing. It’s not about getting as much freedom that you possibly can, it’s about serving others when it may cost you some of your liberty in Christ to see His kingdom furthered instead. It’s not about me! Why is that coming across to me in pretty much every single book we’ve read??!! I know exactly why, it’s a lesson that is taking me a very long time to learn. I’m not good at giving up my rights for the cause of Christ. In fact I’m not even good at recognizing an opportunity to put others need of Christ first. It barely ever crosses my mind. I’ve definitely got issues folks!

"Therefore I run thus; not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air, but I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified." 9:27  This wasn’t the only verse I read to keep reinforcing the fact that every single thing I do in a day has eternal effects. Do I spend most of my time on worthless, pointless drivel that won’t matter one bit in the run of eternity. Do I even think of eternity in the whole course of a day?? I’m learning, but I would still consider myself to walk around ‘beating the air’ a good part of my day. "Therefore, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all tot he glory of God." 10:31  God is concerned with everything I do. Am I concerned? Do I care why and how I do everything? Do I have an eternal agenda with my God that I hold myself to each and every moment of every day? It’s been a bit of an eye opener. More conviction, more work for the Lord to do in me. More to meditate on and ponder.

Hubby is ready to sit and relax after a days work and have his supper so I’m going to sign off even though there is soooo much more to the chapters we read this week. I’m really looking forward to reading what all of you learned! So please, link away!!!

Leave a Reply

