Book Review Friday, Edited

Standard

I am so sorry to appear so slack with Book Review Friday but I will not be posting my review until later, maybe even this evening. Apparently I am not capable of running my home, running a ‘Busy Bees’ contest at Awana, get my BRF posted, and chew gum at the same time.  I will however, put Mr.Linky up for you to add your links as you are ready. We are off to visit the newest cousin this morning since the kids haven’t had many chances of holding her and my blog will just have to wait. It’s killing me too.

***********************************************************************************************

It’s evening and I made it back to do my review. It was a beautiful day and after playing outside for so long the kids will sleep well tonight. :) But first things first, we will read 1 Corinthians chapters 5-8 until next Friday’s review. Then, just another 2 weeks and we should have a really good grasp on the whole book. Now here’s my late, not so grand review…

I thought that 1 Corinthians was a great read right after Jonah. Being convicted of my own Jonah-itis was scary, because it calls for action. I now have to go and practice what I learned and I really didn’t have a clue how it would all work. But I found out in reading this week as I usually do, It’s not about me! I’m not living out my Christian faith in my own strength and wisdom and having to count on saying ‘just the right thing’ to that certain someone or they will be lost for eternity. Peoples souls are not held in the balance with my method for reaching them for Christ tipping them one way or the other. I love how many times Paul reinforced to the people reading the letter that it doesn’t matter what they know or what they say or who did what. "… preach the gospel, not with wisdom of words, lest the cross of Christ should be made of no effect." Paul told them that, in reality, everything we say, no matter how profound it may be spiritually will seem really stupid to an unsaved person. Unless the Lord is drawing that person into a relationship with Him, they’re just going to feel sorry for us being taken in by such a silly philosophy. "For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing,"

I also loved how Paul let the people know that even the lowliest of men can be used mightly by God. That’s why we can sit back and reflect on the types of people God has used in history to do awesome things for the cause of Christ. Most of them were regular John-Doe kinds of people who just did what God told them to do, even when it was yucky. He uses what would be considered the most foolish things to do His will just so we can rest assured that He did it all and He’s the one that gets the glory, not us. "He who glories, let him glory in the Lord."

I do realize that Paul was getting the people to refocus. They were still acting like babes in Christ. They were more concerned about things that didn’t matter. They had forgotten the main event, Christ. It is not by man that they were saved. It is not by man that they learn and grow as Christians. It is not by man that they will have the power to say and do things for their Lord. Stop worrying about man’s feeble attempt to be so wise. Get ahead of the game and realize you are nothing and Christ is everything and only worry about the foundation that the Lord has laid for you and "let each one take heed how he builds on it."

I found the verse, "If anyone’s work which he has built on it endures, he will receive a reward. If anyone’s work is burned, he will suffer loss;" very good. It’s made me rethink my daily schedule and priorities even more. It is why I could tell myself to let my blog wait until all was quiet and children weren’t calling for my attention and hubby wouldn’t be ignored while I typed away. Just what kind of stuff am I laying down on the foundation God has given me?What kind of place am I building as protection and training and example to my children? Just why do I do all the things I do every day??? Very good question. Will the stuff be burned or endure? I believe I could even be doing the right things with the wrong attitude and that means that it’s in the burn pile, know what I mean? :(

I learned a lot more, I had no idea how much until I started typing. Thanks for listening. :) But I believe all that was spoken to me this week in 1 Cor. 1-4 could be summed up nicely in 3:7, "So then, neither he who plants is anyting, nor he who waters, but God who gives the increase." Good to know.

Leave a Reply

