Book Review : Jonah

Standard

First things first. For next Fridays book review we will be reading 1 Cor. 1-4. We can split 1 Corinthians into 4 parts and get to know it really well. :) … Now for Jonah’s review….

It makes me sit back and realize just how much we Christians lose focus of what this life is all about. Jonah was being an idiot, but we’re all in the same fishes belly here folks! Just ask yourself how many people you have actually sat down with and explained the gospel in the past month, or do you have to go back a year or two like I did to find an instance? Jonah didn’t want to go to Nineveh and I wouldn’t have either considering all that I’ve heard about how evil the city really was. Any kind of people who stick the heads of those they’ve murdered on poles to decorate their city are not the kind of people I would be seeking company with, not even to witness. I’m with Jonah in the boat on that one I’m afraid.

But seriously, I have never been called to a scary place to witness, just that woman I met in the grocery isle that was obviously having a rough day, or the man who stopped me to ask me about my kids when we were leaving the store. The new friends I meet wouldn’t have heard me speak about my Lord, ‘I’m witnessing by letting them watch and see how different I am’. OH PLEASE!!! I’m actually running to Tarshish with Jonah if I don’t take the time to tell these people about living for God. Could it be possible that we are in the middle of a huge spiritual battle but all us Christians that God has called to ‘go tell’ are asleep way down there in the boat not havin a clue what’s going on and not really caring!!!! I say that I am the one who needs to hear the words, "Who can tell if God will turn and relent, and turn away from His fierce anger, so that we may not perish?" 3:9

Like Jonah I forget to be thankful for my own salvation and want to pass it on to others. I forget that ‘there but for the grace of God go I’. After all that Anne told me about the speakers at the Easter services last weekend I’ve had it all mulling over in my brain. I have come to the conclusion of how shallow us Christians are. Shame on us for forgetting that our whole purpose here and now is to live for the Lord and bring the gospel to those we come in contact with. Nothing else matters. I’ll still paint my kitchen and homeschool my kids and enjoy family get togethers, but I don’t want to lose sight of the important stuff. Right now it’s hard for me to imagine a day when I could tell people weekly about by experiences witnessing to everyone around me. I would love for it to just naturally flow out of me whenever I’m talking with someone, but I’ve got Jonah-itis. I’ve got it real bad.

Leave a Reply

