Book Review Friday: Mark 5-8

Standard

First things first : For next weeks book review we will move on to chapters 9-12. We’re half way through Mark already. :)

I’ve had one of those weeks. I had decided that on Monday I was going to gain control of my life and it’s sad to say that it’s Friday already and it hasn’t happened. That’s what sickness in a house of 6 does. The big bad cold is hitting us only one at a time, each person taking their turn on a different day and I’m thinking Master I is on for tomorrow. All this to say that I haven’t had as much brain power as I would have liked to for this review. There were soooo many questions going through my mind. Lots of confusing passages and always wondering if my heart was hardened and that’s why I couldn’t understand. That was the reason that Jesus gave the disciples when they didn’t get what He was talking about, so naturally I must have those issues too. That whole "I see men as trees, walking." thing is one of the many confusing passages. I won’t give a list of all the things I didn’t get, it would be way too long.

There has been something on my mind this week though and the thought was planted there by an email that Charmin forwarded to me from a guy that Marty and I went to Bible school with. In his update on his ministry and what the Lord is doing in the area where they live he made the statement, "The world is consumed with their own righteousness". That made me stop and think. Of course, in keeping with my personality, I immediately thought of all those people out there who think they are so holy and have arrived spiritually. What a moron! That statement was all about me! Obviously I have a hardened heart if that’s the way I’m thinking. How can the Lord teach someone like that anything!?! How humbling.  Anyway, after realizing this and then reading Mark 7:1-9 for about the 4th time it clicked. Especially verses 6&7, "This people honors Me with their lips, But their heart is far from Me. And in vain they worship Me, Teaching as doctrines the commandments of men."  So I got my slap in the face and am praying for help in that area. It’s so easy to get off track and not pay attention to what the real point is. The point isn’t structure and rituals and if everyone is living up to par. It’s about what God asks each of us to do at each moment of each day. Don’t get caught up in the rituals, Shannon, get caught up in what God has planned for you this day, this moment.

And another verse that I have a love/hate relationship with is 8:35. "For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake and the gospel’s will save it." That’s so hard. One of the hardest battles I’m desperately trying to win lately is just getting up 45 minutes earlier. It’s not a sin for me to get up at 7am necessarily, but it’s much better for me to be able to be up and ready for the day and ready to greet my kids with makeup on and a smile instead of looking like I was just hit with a sledgehammer. I should have this verse painted on my bedroom ceiling so I see it each time I reach over to press the snooze button. It may seem like a silly thing to use this verse on but it’s with the silly things like this that the huge battles start to be won. It’s preparation for bigger and better things… and I can’t get out of bed. I’m a grown woman for heaven’s sake! Tomorrow, it’s all over. I’m getting up ON TIME!

Now for your reviews. I’m going to need them big time this week. Hope you understood more than I! :)

Leave a Reply

