Book Review Friday: Psalm 119

Standard

First things first. Our book to read each day the entire week and end up right back here next Friday is…. da da da da….Mark 1-4. We can tackle a longer book in 4 stages. By reading 4 chapters each day for a month we can read the entire book 7 times. :) So chapters 1 through 4 is on for this week, K?!

Now for all those who have been right in there since the very beginning here’s a list of all the books that have been read so far in our Book Review Friday’s. I know we all haven’t been completely faithful each and every week, but as you go through the list every single one of us can be VERY encouraged as we check off each book we did read. I know that most of the ladies couldn’t say that they picked up their Bibles very often before this whole thing started and here we are today with this list!! Love it! Here they are:

  • Psalm 119
  • Ephesians
  • Haggai
  • 1 & 2 Timothy
  • Ruth
  • 1& 2 Thessalonians
  • Daniel
  • Philippians
  • Habakkuk
  • James ( for 4 weeks!)
  • 1,2, &3 John
  • Galatians

I mean no disrespect to any Christian colleges or universities out there, but there is a whole lot more being learned by this gal through simple repetitive reading and applying it to daily life than any course I could take anywhere else. It’s true.

Now onto Psalm 119. There really wasn’t anything earth shattering as I read through this, it was just a simple blessing. It’s encouraging. I could very much relate to the writer of the whole Psalm. I’m becoming more and more each day, that person who thrives on God’s Word. It’s becoming almost all consuming. Everything I read and discover just leaves me thirsty for more. But at the same time I’m learning so much, I’m making even more mistakes it would seem. The writer speaks of good times and bad times. Times when he’s close to the Lord and times when from his own sin he is distanced from God and begging to get close again. There are times when he is having a hard time staying focused on the Lord because of outside pressure and affliction. Worldly things sometimes invade and make it hard to stay focused. But time and time again he brings himself back to what counts. He understands where his life is really found, "Unless Your law had been my delight, I would then have perished in my affliction. I will never forget Your precepts, For by them You have given me life." (vs.92,93)

I was constantly reminded of my complete and utter dependence on God to live the kind of life I want to live. Most of my days I can get depressed thinking of what a lost cause I am. After all, I know what I’m really like! But then I read vs.9 "how can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your word." Oh that sounds so simple. I just need to do what the Bible says. Easy sneezy, NOT! So you start thinking about being a hopeless cause again and start getting depressed… and then vs. 32 comes up, "I will run the course of Your commandments, For You shall enlarge my heart." So there really is hope. I have the desire, I’m just not able to follow through on it. God gives the ability to live out what He writes about.

The greatest lesson in my life these days is simply stated in vs.57. Learning to say, "You are my portion, O Lord.." is so hard. I get busy and then start getting stressed, which means I’m getting sidetracked. I loved the verses talking about turning my feet to God’s testimonies and I hurried to do it. Realizing that you are headed down the wrong path is sometimes easy to recognize but getting up and turning around can often seem just too hard to handle and we continue on our way forgetting the urgency and importance in the whole issue. But the more I read the easier turning around is. It’s true that the more I read the more sin in my life I see that needs to be purged, but I also have more strength to overcome it because of all I have learned.

There truly is life in the Scriptures. The writer of Psalm 119 knew it and I’m well on my way to learning it too. :)

Please forgive any confusing statements and spelling errors as usual. It’s been a very busy week and it’s looking like Friday is going to be crazy as well and I’m tired. When I’m tired my spelling gets worse, if that’s possible. :)

Leave a Reply

