Book Review Friday: Ephesians

Standard

(First of all, The next BRF will be Psalm 119. Yes, just one chapter. But it’s almost as long as Ephesians. I’ve never read it before except for a verse or two here and there.)

Man oh man, I think this was my hardest one yet! I missed reading it one day but I think I really needed an extra week on this one. But I will attempt to convey the little eensy weensy tiny bit that I believe I grasped, somewhat…

God has a plan, and I’m part of it. Sounds simple but there’s so much more to it. I have been saved by the awesome grace of God from a life & eternity without Christ. I have been adopted as God’s child and have been blessed with every spiritual blessing needed to live the life he wants me to live. But I feel like the Ephesians that Paul was writing to. Obviously he knew that they were missing out on something. He knew it was possible to be part of God’s saved-by-grace family and not be aware that there is a higher plain to reach for.

In chapter one Paul starts telling the people that he prays for them.  Verse 17 says that he prays that God will give them revelation in the knowledge of Him and that the eyes of their understanding would be opened. They were believers already, they didn’t need salvation, but they weren’t experiencing the tremendous power that was at their fingertips on a daily basis. They didn’t really know God, they weren’t really living for Him. There’s so much more for me to know and experience. I want that same power Paul is talking about to be worked in me. "that you may know…what is the exceeding greatness of His power toward us who believe, according to the working of His mighty power which He worked in Christ when He raised him from the dead…" (1:19-20) Power that cancels death. Pretty cool.

The mystery of Christ can be made known right here in my little life if I’m willing to allow the Holy Spirit to do it’s work. The Holy Spirit that was given to me as a guarantee of all that Christ has given me, saved me from, and my future hope.  I was chosen before the foundation of the world to be one of God’s children, for that I am very thankful. I always forget the fact that it doesn’t stop there though. He also predestined me to do my part in bringing about His will while I’m here on earth. He has work for me to do. "For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them." (2:10)  It’s not going to be easy work either.

What God asks me to do or endure for Him makes me nervous as I have said before. But reading Ephesians builds my confidence in meeting any circumstance head on. No matter what happens God is still God. He is working out his plan, "For He Himself is our peace," (love that line) and He has offered all of His power to us if we will ask for it to get the job done. Not only is all that power at our disposal but also the armor of God to protect us and guide us through each and every battle we face.

As I read those verses about the armor of God in chapter 6 I realized for the first time (all over again) that when problems arise in my life whether physical, relational, emotional or whatever, that the problem is really spiritual. How I handle each battle in my day, whether big or small, can either be to the praise of His glory or living for the flesh and giving in to the wiles of the devil. Depending on where I am at spiritually at the time will affect how I maneuver around those fiery darts and if they will be quenched or not.

It all comes down to relationships. Am I close to my Saviour. Am I living off of His power day in day out. When I am doing that then I can walk in truth, love, wisdom, finding out what is acceptable to the Lord in each relationship He allows to come my way.

Of course, there was so much more to this book but that’s all I can do this time round. I can’t wait to see some other reviews and maybe it will help me in my attempts to grasp some stuff from this round of BRF. :)

Now it’s your turn. Just add a link

to your BRF post, we’re all excited to see everyone else’s reviews show up throughout the day. :)

Leave a Reply

