Book Review Friday: 2 Timothy

Standard

Hello everyone, it’s BRF time again. Woo Hoo! Right off, before I forget again I’ll let you know the book for next week. Lets all read Haggai each day until next Friday. It’s a very short book and I’m not sure I’ve ever read even a verse let alone the whole book. If you are reading this and don’t know what Book Review Friday is all about, check it out here and maybe you’ll want to join in. It’s not about perfection, it’s about encouraging each other to be digging deeper into God’s Word. :) Now for my review….

I am an underliner/highlighter. If I read something that convicts me or it’s written really well I always mark it somehow. 2 Timothy has a lot of underlining in it. I loved it! The very first thing that ‘hit me’ was in 1:12, "I know whom I have believed’. You know, Paul really did know who he was believing in. Why else would he go through all the afflictions he had to bear because of the cause of Christ?! Do I really know whom I’m serving? I know I don’t the same way Paul does, if I did my life would be very different. I’d still be a wife and mom and homemaker, but my daily focus would be sooo much higher than it is now. I’ve been consumed with the here and now. I’ve been very convicted about wanting my own comfort and ease.

Then along comes 2:4, "No one engaged in warfare entangles himself with the affairs of this life, that he may please him who listed him as a soldier". This verse really was a bit of a struggle for me. Just what does "affairs of this life’ mean anyway? I can’t just stop making meals, laundry, school with he kids etc. Life just seems to call for a few entanglements. But I need to remember, we are in the middle of a war here. God couldn’t care less if the laundry is done  or that my kids learn to read and write if they don’t learn to serve the Lord with all their hearts. It’s true. I know there’s a whole lot more kinds of entanglements but this post can’t be too long, so I’ll just move on. :)

I really have to die to self and be ready "in season and out of season" to preach Christ to my family. I read 2:24-26 through a mothers eyes and was even more convicted. I am called to be gentle to my children, patiently teaching them, humbly (oh, that’s me!) correcting them in their sin, seriously concerned with their little hearts that they will be brought to repentance. If they don’t, they will go to hell!  Do you ever think of that? Unless your children get saved they will spend eternity apart from God. Just because you are saved doesn’t mean they will be someday. I teach my kids the Bible, and take them to church and all that, but I don’t concern myself with them actually getting saved like I should.  I have to stop getting entangled and focus on eternal things.

I really have to stop and pray and ask the Lord to "stir up the gift of God that is in me" and start concentrating on things that really matter. A little bit of a revelation I had was in 4:17,"But the Lord stood with me and strengthened me, so that the message might be preached fully through me,".  All the times that I have been strengthened in trials and brought through situations I always just thanked the Lord (if I remembered) and carried on my merry way thinking that God just loves me and that’s why he helps. I realize now, He helps and strengthens me so I can get right back up and carry on with the message and jobs He has for me. When He lifts me up, I’ll get up with purpose! God delivers us because there are still things He wants to use us for.

I’ve got so much to learn and He’s got so much to change. I want to be one of those that "loved His appearing." I want to be ready and waiting for Christ to come get me!

There was so much in this book and I can’t wait to see all that you girls have to say. I look forward to seeing your name on Mr. Linky! :) (Remember to check out the directions to use it properly.)

Leave a Reply

