Book Review Friday: 2 Thessalonians

Standard

What a great book, eh?! I think we’ll all probably be saying that every time we meet back here for this each week. :)

It didn’t take me too long into the first chapter to be humbled and brought to thanks for what God is doing in me. Vs.4 & 5, "…your patience and faith in all your persecutions and tribulations that you endure, which is manifest evidence of the righteous judgment of God, that you may be counted worthy of the kingdom of God, for which you also suffer;". 

Purification: The process God puts me through to refine me and make me more like Himself. Boy, that hurts though. Sometimes a little, sometimes a lot. But did you ever stop to think that just the fact that it seems like He’s putting you through a meat grinder (excuse the terminology there), is proof of His love and care in our lives? It’s proof of Him who began a good work in you being faithful to complete it. I’m saved (!) and he wants me to be worthy of His kingdom. Please Lord, remind me of this fact when more of those hard times come. I really do want Him to "Fulfill all the good pleasure of His goodness and the work of faith with power," vs11 in me, so that He maybe glorified in my life.

I can be sailing along, doing my reading, praying, taking care of my family, thinking I’m doing pretty good. That’s when a verse like 2:4 pops up and I feel horrible all over again. "..who opposes and exalts himself above all that is called God or that is worshiped, so that he sits as God in the temple of God, showing himself that he is God." Oh my, that’s me all over. After all, it is all about me isn’t it!? I exalt myself in how I live each day. I sit myself down in my temple of the Holy Spirit and ask Him to make room for me and I start deciding what would be best , and getting grumpy when it’s not going smoothly. If I don’t look out for #1 who will?   I need a whole lot more of that patience and faith the first chapter was talking about. I’ll just keep handing my heart over to the Lord so He can direct it. He is the only one who can change anything.

I was also encouraged by the last part of chapter 3 to learn to work hard/ harder, and be prepared for the long haul. It’s not easy to do all that God has asked me (or you, I’m sure), but as long as we are doing what He asks He will always provide the strength so we will not grow weary.

Now as I go, "The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen." 3:18

Next weeks book will be Ruth. A very well known story, but when you read it 7 times in a week you’re bound to notice a few things that were never noticed before. :) If you don’t know what Book Review Friday is, click here and find out and get involved.

We’d all love to see your review on 2 Thess, so add your link right here and we can be a great encouragment to each other!

Leave a Reply

