Book Review Friday: Habakkuk

Standard

I did get asked once this week in the most pitiable way, “Why did you choose Habakkuk?!?”. I thought that myself the first time I started reading it. Marty was working and I was alone in bed with it all dark and late and quiet. Then I start reading about “I am raising up the Chaldeans, A bitter and hasty nation…to possess dwelling places that are not theirs. They are terrible and dreadful… and more fierce than evening wolves…”, I wanted to close the Bible and close my eyes and pray for morning. I was thinking, I don’t need a horror flick, just read Habakkuk!

Seriously though, I was reminded how serious it is not to honor God in our day to day lives. The way God is telling Habakkuk He is going to deal with sin in the nation of Judah is scary, and I think we are in a scary situation now-a-days as well. Nothing has changed. We live in a scary society and God will not let us carry on in la-la land forever. Just as it says in 3:16 “When he comes up to the people, He will invade them with his troops.” we need to be ready for that day.
I’m so glad I’m saved from the wrath of God to come. The last verses in Habakkuk are what let me get to sleep, even when I was all by myself at night reading. What encouraging verses. They quickly became my new favorite verses of all time. I will be memorizing them for sure!

“Though the fig tree may not blossom, Nor fruit be on the vines; Though the labor of the olive may fail, And the fields yield no food; Though the flock may be cut off from the fold, And there be no herd in the stalls- Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation. The Lord God is my strength; He will make my feel like deer’s feet, And He will make me walk on my high hills.”

God is not subject to circumstances. No matter what may happen to me, or how he may have to deal with my sin or our nation as a whole, there will be victory at the end. Something found rather encouraging to this young mom in my everyday circumstances. But I will be doing my best to avoid needing to be dealt with as much as possible until He comes to take me home. I hate pain. Habakkuk is a great reminder.

I will point out that even after reading it for the week I still don’t understand quite a bit of Habakkuk. Learning as I go here. Little by little. :)

I will be announcing the next book for ‘Book Review Friday’ tomorrow so keep posted and don’t forget to let me know if you want me to add you to my links of all those participating. :)

Leave a Reply

