Book Review Friday: Finished the double-dog-dare!

Standard

What can I say? Things have changed. It’s a hard thing to explain though. We’ve been reading James for a whole month and I’ve learned a lot. Not so much learning new things though. When you grow up in a Christian home you know a lot of things. It’s more like all the things you know start to penetrate you. You start to live what you read. Doing a weekly review makes you actually meditate on what you are reading, almost a lost are these days.

One day last week I found myself asking why I was feeling so good, home was more relaxed and kids were…. just better. I just seemed to have a better handle on life. But as soon as that question “why?” entered my brain I knew the answer. God’s changing me. We all know if moms happy, everyone is happy. :) And this change can be fully credited to God by the way since I bought but did not consume the Evening Primrose. :)

I blew it this morning and showed some signs of anger. No doubt, I was angry. I think hubby was the only that had to witness it. Not pretty. So, I’ll just keep plugging away doing my best to remember “the wrath of man does not produce the righteousness of God.”
Being able to use verses that we’ve read together as a family in our daily life is a great lesson for the kids too. A number of verses have been talked over and ‘figured out’ by little minds in the past few weeks.
I am going to sum up what I’ve learned in James into 4:7,8. Very common verses but never over-used.

“Therefore submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.”

I am more capable to conquer temptation the more scripture I read. It draws me closer to the Lord, and the closer I get the better it is.
It all reminds me of that song, “the longer I serve Him the sweeter He grows.” I wonder why we haven’t sung that one in church in a while. I just happen to know the song leader for next week pretty good, I think I’ll make a request. :)

I am going to change courses here and move to the old testament. If you are up for it, join me. This one is only 2 1/2 pages long. Read Habakkuk every day for a week and next Friday we’ll have a few more reviews to read… hopefully.

Leave a Reply

