Book Review Friday : James

Standard

So it’s been another weeks in James and things were a little rougher going for me this week. It would seem that Satan is against me. I could blame it on my own sin nature but I appreciate having someone to blame. I have been sooo tired and headaches and feeling icky off and on. I even bought some Evening Primrose Oil to try to help myself keep from falling into the depths of despair. :) It has been a week of “For I delight in the law of God according to the inward man. But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?” Rom.7:22-24
The more I read and learn and see sin in my life the harder it is to get rid of. The very things I am trying to purge occur more and more.
I had memorized James 3:17 a while ago. It’s one that I really need in the deep recesses of my brain at all times. So why is it that when I start reading this verse everyday I am tempted more than ever to not be pure, peaceable, gentle, willing to yield…. Actually I know why it is this way. Satan does not want me to be learning and growing. He doesn’t want to see people becoming more like their savior so he makes it a struggle to do it.
I’ve been trying to remind myself of 4: 7 ” Therefore submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” Especially remembering “Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” I can’t let the devil have the upper hand. I consider this as just one of the many different forms that bend in the road can have and I mean to keep focused. The only way I can keep that focus is to keep on plugging away at reading and praying, reading and praying, reading and praying. It’s like a song I love, for the words not especially the music, that talks about the difference between strong Christians and people like me. Part of the chorus says “..the saints are just the sinners who fall down and get up”. I’ve fallen down quite a few times this week but I plan on getting up each time I do and hopefully I’ll learn to stay on my feet longer and get myself around this bend.

So keep reading James each day. Two weeks to go. :)
I hope no one is forgetting to be one of the Proverbs Ladies. Charmin got us reading the Proverb for the day and also a great idea to keep that going.

Leave a Reply

